The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals

4.17 avg rating
( 142,331 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780143038580: The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals

What shall we have for dinner? Such a simple question has grown to have a very complicated answer. We can eat almost anything nature has to offer, but deciding what we should eat stirs anxiety. Should we choose the organic apple or the conventional? If organic, local or imported? Wild fish or farmed? Low-carb or low-cal? As the American culture of fast food and unlimited choice invades the world, Pollan follows his next meal from land to table, tracing the origin of everything consumed and the implications for ourselves and our planet. His astonishing findings will shock all who care about what they put on their plate.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

`A masterly blend of investigative journalism and amusing personal
narrative ... a sharp insight into current predicaments surrounding supper' -- Aimee Shalan, Guardian

`Compelling ... What stands out is Pollan's love of food and its
natural production' -- Naomi Booth, Daily Telegraph

`Mesmerising ... Pollan brilliantly shows how economics have
turned evolution on its head' -- Financial Times Magazine

`Pollan's book is convivial, creative and deeply disturbing,
though he does offer hope ... it has certainly changed the way I think
about food' -- Audrey Niffenegger, Guardian

`This articulate and engrossing book is as beautifully written as
it is insightful' -- Sunday Times

From the Publisher:

By the acclaimed author of The Botany of Desire. For fans of
Fast Food Nation and Shopped. The Omnivore's Dilemma has been shortlisted
for the Andre Simon Memorial award 2006.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pollan, Michael
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801430385800000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Pollan, Michael
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 214 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. One of the New YorkTimes BookReview s Ten Best Books of the Year Winner of the James Beard Award Author of #1 New York Times Bestsellers InDefense of Food and Food Rules Today, buffeted by one food fad after another, America is suffering from what can only be described as a national eating disorder. Will it be fast food tonight, or something organic?Or perhaps something we grew ourselves?The question of what to have for dinner has confronted us since man discovered fire. But as Michael Pollan explains in this revolutionary book, how we answer it now, as the dawn of the twenty-first century, may determine our survival as a species. Packed with profound surprises, The Omnivore s Dilemma is changing the way Americans thing about the politics, perils, and pleasures of eating. Thoughtful, engrossing . You re not likely to get a better explanation of exactly where your food comes from. - The New York Times Book Review An eater s manifesto . [Pollan s] cause is just, his thinking is clear, and his writing is compelling. Be careful of your dinner! - The Washington Post Outstanding. a wide-ranging invitation to think through the moral ramifications of our eating habits. --The New Yorker If you ever thought what s for dinner was a simple question, you ll change your mind after reading Pollan s searing indictment of today s food industry-and his glimpse of some inspiring alternatives. I just loved this book so much I didn t want it to end. -The Seattle Times Michael Pollan s newest book Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation --the story of our most trusted food expert s culinary education--was published by The Penguin Press in April 2013. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780143038580

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Pollan, Michael
Published by Penguin LCC US (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin LCC US, 2007. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780143038580

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Pollan, Michael
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 214 x 140 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. One of the New YorkTimes BookReview s Ten Best Books of the Year Winner of the James Beard Award Author of #1 New York Times Bestsellers InDefense of Food and Food Rules Today, buffeted by one food fad after another, America is suffering from what can only be described as a national eating disorder. Will it be fast food tonight, or something organic?Or perhaps something we grew ourselves?The question of what to have for dinner has confronted us since man discovered fire. But as Michael Pollan explains in this revolutionary book, how we answer it now, as the dawn of the twenty-first century, may determine our survival as a species. Packed with profound surprises, The Omnivore s Dilemma is changing the way Americans thing about the politics, perils, and pleasures of eating. Thoughtful, engrossing . You re not likely to get a better explanation of exactly where your food comes from. - The New York Times Book Review An eater s manifesto . [Pollan s] cause is just, his thinking is clear, and his writing is compelling. Be careful of your dinner! - The Washington Post Outstanding. a wide-ranging invitation to think through the moral ramifications of our eating habits. --The New Yorker If you ever thought what s for dinner was a simple question, you ll change your mind after reading Pollan s searing indictment of today s food industry-and his glimpse of some inspiring alternatives. I just loved this book so much I didn t want it to end. -The Seattle Times Michael Pollan s newest book Cooked: A Natural History of Transformation --the story of our most trusted food expert s culinary education--was published by The Penguin Press in April 2013. Bookseller Inventory # KNV9780143038580

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Pollan, Michael
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-ING-00283002

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds
International Edition
International Edition

6.

Pollan, Michael
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Softcover Quantity Available: 15
International Edition
Seller
US_Superfast_Bookstore
(New Castle, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. This is an International Edition Brand New Paperback Same Title Author and Edition as listed. ISBN and Cover design differs. Similar Contents as U.S Edition. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days ACROSS THE GLOBE. We can ship to PO Box address in US. International Edition Textbooks may bear a label "Not for sale in the U.S. or Canada" or "For sale in Asia only" or similar restrictions- printed only to discourage students from obtaining an affordable copy. US Court has asserted your right to buy and use International edition. Access code/CD may not provided with these editions. We may ship the books from multiple warehouses across the globe including Asia depending upon the availability of inventory. Printed in English. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # PS_9780143038580

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.98
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Pollan, Michael
Published by Penguin Group USA
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Group USA. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780143038580

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Pollan, Michael
Published by Penguin
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 16
Seller
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143038583 Great book !! Established seller with great ratings! A+ Customer Service! Orders ship from the USA!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0143038583ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 10.37
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Pollan, Michael
Published by Penguin LCC US (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin LCC US, 2007. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780143038580

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.89
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Pollan, Michael
ISBN 10: 0143038583 ISBN 13: 9780143038580
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
CitiRetail
(Lowfield Heath, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 140mm x 25mm x 217mm. Paperback. A "New York Times" bestseller that has changed the way readers view the ecology of eating, this revolutionary book by award winner Michael Pollan asks the seemingly simple question: What s.Shipping may be from our UK, US or Australian warehouse depending on stock availability. 480 pages. 0.353. Bookseller Inventory # 9780143038580

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book