London Is the Best City in America

3.44 avg rating
( 2,280 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143038504: London Is the Best City in America

The first novel from the acclaimed author of Eight Hundred Grapes and Hello Sunshine

Emmy Everett is reluctantly heading home to New York for her brother Josh’s wedding. She has spent the last three years in a fishing town in Rhode Island and, having little to show for it, she doesn’t particularly want to answer the questions she is sure to face about her (ex)-fiance, her (questionable) career choices, her (unknown) future. But she is still shocked when her typically resolute brother Josh confesses he is having doubts about his imminent marriage – and he asks Emmy the hardest question of all: what do I do now?

With seventy-two hours until the wedding, Emmy embarks with Josh on a road trip to help him find a mystery woman, and to answer some long overdue questions about who he wants to spend his life with. It isn’t only Josh who has some lessons to learn. Along the way, Emmy discovers some undeniable truths about what she wants from her own life; and she begins to realize that perhaps her own happy ending is not as far away as it seems.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"Dave's absorbing, piercing debut takes place over a weekend... So much happens in [this] wonderfully plotted first novel that it's hard to believe the events all occur in the space of a few days. Dave expertly captures the ennui and indecision many twenty- and thirtysomethings grapple with when faced with big, life-changing decisions."
--Booklist

"It's hard not to root for these vivid characters; even the heroine's high school flame, Josh's best friend ...Berringer, is distinctive and likable, making Emmy's interest in him contagious. Josh and Emmy's happy, exasperating parents ... round out the cast, giving readers plenty of reasons to enjoy this promising new author."
-Publishers Weekly

"Dave's first novel is beautifully written...[her] characters care more about their personal journeys than their shoe brands. Fans of Melissa Bank and Jennifer Weiner will want to read this one.
-Library Journal

"LONDON IS THE BEST CITY IN AMERICA is a delicious comedy of manners and a smart examination of the heart and its desires. What a sparkling debut!"
-Susan Isaacs, author of LONG TIME NO SEE

"What a wonderful debut this is! I was completely taken with it and read it, neglecting nearly everything else, with the kind of delight one feels when in the thrall of a master storyteller. Laura Dave isn't on her way. She has arrived!"
-Richard Bausch, author of WIVES AND LOVERS

"Incredibly deft, utterly satisfying...I love every character. A triumph of a first novel."
-Melissa Bank, author of THE GIRLS' GUIDE TO HUNTING AND FISHING and THE WONDER SPOT

"Is it possible to have a crush on a book? If so, then I did and do for Laura Dave's fine, funny, surprising first novel."
-Liam Callanan, author of THE CLOUD ATLAS

"With its suspenseful plot, endearing heroine and vivid prose, Laura Dave's LONDON IS THE BEST CITY IN AMERICA is an immensely appealing novel. A sparkling debut."
-Margot Livesey, author of EVA MOVES THE FURNITURE

About the Author:

Laura Dave is the author of the acclaimed novel London is the Best City in America, and most recently of Eight Hundred Grapes. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Glamour, Self, Redbook, ESPN the Magazine, and The New York Observer. Cosmopolitan magazine recently named her one of the “Fun and Fearless Phenoms” of the year. Dave currently lives in California.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Laura Dave
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801430385040000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Laura Dave
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. The first novel from the acclaimed author of Eight Hundred Grapes and Hello Sunshine Emmy Everett is reluctantly heading home to New York for her brother Josh s wedding. She has spent the last three years in a fishing town in Rhode Island and, having little to show for it, she doesn t particularly want to answer the questions she is sure to face about her (ex)-fiance, her (questionable) career choices, her (unknown) future. But she is still shocked when her typically resolute brother Josh confesses he is having doubts about his imminent marriage - and he asks Emmy the hardest question of all: what do I do now? With seventy-two hours until the wedding, Emmy embarks with Josh on a road trip to help him find a mystery woman, and to answer some long overdue questions about who he wants to spend his life with. It isn t only Josh who has some lessons to learn. Along the way, Emmy discovers some undeniable truths about what she wants from her own life; and she begins to realize that perhaps her own happy ending is not as far away as it seems. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780143038504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Dave, Laura
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2007. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780143038504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Dave, Laura (Author)
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143038508

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Laura Dave
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. The first novel from the acclaimed author of Eight Hundred Grapes and Hello Sunshine Emmy Everett is reluctantly heading home to New York for her brother Josh s wedding. She has spent the last three years in a fishing town in Rhode Island and, having little to show for it, she doesn t particularly want to answer the questions she is sure to face about her (ex)-fiance, her (questionable) career choices, her (unknown) future. But she is still shocked when her typically resolute brother Josh confesses he is having doubts about his imminent marriage - and he asks Emmy the hardest question of all: what do I do now? With seventy-two hours until the wedding, Emmy embarks with Josh on a road trip to help him find a mystery woman, and to answer some long overdue questions about who he wants to spend his life with. It isn t only Josh who has some lessons to learn. Along the way, Emmy discovers some undeniable truths about what she wants from her own life; and she begins to realize that perhaps her own happy ending is not as far away as it seems. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780143038504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Dave, Laura
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143038508 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132203187

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Laura Dave
Published by Penguin Group (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Group, 2007. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TV9780143038504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.57
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Laura Dave
Published by Penguin Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0143038508

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Laura Dave
Published by Penguin Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0143038508

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
16.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Dave, Laura
Published by Penguin Books 2007-01-30 (2007)
ISBN 10: 0143038508 ISBN 13: 9780143038504
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books 2007-01-30, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 0143038508 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0143038508

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book