Items related to Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

4.37 avg rating
( 11,027 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143037750: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize

Winner of the Council on Foreign Relations Arthur Ross Book Award

One of the New York Times' Ten Best Books of the Year

Almost a decade in the making, this much-anticipated grand history of postwar Europe from one of the world's most esteemed historians and intellectuals is a singular achievement. Postwar is the first modern history that covers all of Europe, both east and west, drawing on research in six languages to sweep readers through thirty-four nations and sixty years of political and cultural change-all in one integrated, enthralling narrative. Both intellectually ambitious and compelling to read, thrilling in its scope and delightful in its small details, Postwar is a rare joy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Judt's massive, learned, brilliantly detailed account of Europe's recovery from the wreckage of World War II presents a whole continent in panorama even as it sets off detonations on almost every page." --The New York Times Book Review

"Remarkable... The writing is vivid; the coverage-of little countries as well as of great ones-is virtually superhuman; and above all, the book is smart. Every page contains unexpected data, or a fresh observation, or a familar observation freshly turned." --Louis Menand, The New Yorker

"Impressive . . . Mr. Judt writes with enormous authority."--The Wall Street Journal

"Magisterial . . . It is, without a doubt, the most comprehensive, authoritative, and yes, readable postwar history." --The Boston Globe

"Brave and remakable." -- The Washington Post

"Brilliant . . . A book that has the pace of a thriller and the scope of an encyclopedia . . . A very considerable achievement." --The New York Review of Books

"Not likely to be surpassed for many years. . . . This is history writing at its best." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

From the Publisher:

A magisterial history of post-war Europe, political, social and cultural, in the tradition of Norman Davies' Europe: A History and Niall Ferguson's Empire.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780099542032: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 009954203X ISBN 13: 9780099542032
Publisher: Vintage, 2010
Softcover

9781594200656: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Pengui..., 2005
Hardcover

9780434007493: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Willia..., 2005
Hardcover

9780712665643: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Pimlico, 2007
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Tony Judt
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize * Winner of the Council on Foreign Relations Arthur Ross Book Award * One of the New York Times' Ten Best Books of the Year"Impressive . . . Mr. Judt writes with enormous authority." -The Wall Street Journal"Magisterial . . . It is, without a doubt, the most comprehensive, authoritative, and yes, readable postwar history." -The Boston GlobeAlmost a decade in the making, this much-anticipated grand history of postwar Europe from one of the world's most esteemed historians and intellectuals is a singular achievement. Postwar is the first modern history that covers all of Europe, both east and west, drawing on research in six languages to sweep readers through thirty-four nations and sixty years of political and cultural change-all in one integrated, enthralling narrative. Both intellectually ambitious and compelling to read, thrilling in its scope and delightful in its small details, Postwar is a rare joy. Judt's book, Ill Fares the Land, republished in 2021 featuring a new preface by bestselling author of Between the World and Me and The Water Dancer, Ta-Nehisi Coates. Seller Inventory # LIB9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 4197971-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Tony Judt
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 3
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. In this magnificent, unprecedented history of postwar Europe, esteemed historian Judt covers 34 countries across 60 years in a single integrated narrative, using a great deal of material from newly available sources. Seller Inventory # B9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
19.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Tony Judt
Published by Penguin Publishing Group 2006-09-05, New York (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New paperback Quantity: 5
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
20.54
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Soft Cover Quantity: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.98
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Tony Judt
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2011)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize * Winner of the Council on Foreign Relations Arthur Ross Book Award * One of the New York Times' Ten Best Books of the Year"Impressive . . . Mr. Judt writes with enormous authority." -The Wall Street Journal"Magisterial . . . It is, without a doubt, the most comprehensive, authoritative, and yes, readable postwar history." -The Boston GlobeAlmost a decade in the making, this much-anticipated grand history of postwar Europe from one of the world's most esteemed historians and intellectuals is a singular achievement. Postwar is the first modern history that covers all of Europe, both east and west, drawing on research in six languages to sweep readers through thirty-four nations and sixty years of political and cultural change-all in one integrated, enthralling narrative. Both intellectually ambitious and compelling to read, thrilling in its scope and delightful in its small details, Postwar is a rare joy. Judt's book, Ill Fares the Land, republished in 2021 featuring a new preface by bestselling author of Between the World and Me and The Water Dancer, Ta-Nehisi Coates. Seller Inventory # BZE9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
23.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Tony Judt
Published by Penguin Books, New York, NY (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. Named one of the Ten Best Books of the Year by the "New York Times Book Review" Almost a decade in the making, this much-anticipated grand history of postwar Europe from one of the world's most esteemed historians and intellectuals is a singular achievement. "Postwar" is the first modern history that covers all of Europe, both east and west, drawing on research in six languages to sweep readers through thirty-four nations and sixty years of political and cultural change-all in one integrated, enthralling narrative. Both intellectually ambitious and compelling to read, thrilling in its scope and delightful in its small details, "Postwar" is a rare joy. A "Time" and "San Francisco Chronicle" Best Book of the YearMaps, photos, and cartoons throughout In this magnificent, unprecedented history of postwar Europe, esteemed historian Judt covers 34 countries across 60 years in a single integrated narrative, using a great deal of material from newly available sources. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
22.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.15
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books 9/1/2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Paperback or Softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.55
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 4197971-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 13.28
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Judt, Tony (Author)
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0143037757

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 13.70
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book