Items related to Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

4.37 avg rating
( 11,027 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143037750: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize

Winner of the Council on Foreign Relations Arthur Ross Book Award

One of the New York Times' Ten Best Books of the Year

Almost a decade in the making, this much-anticipated grand history of postwar Europe from one of the world's most esteemed historians and intellectuals is a singular achievement. Postwar is the first modern history that covers all of Europe, both east and west, drawing on research in six languages to sweep readers through thirty-four nations and sixty years of political and cultural change-all in one integrated, enthralling narrative. Both intellectually ambitious and compelling to read, thrilling in its scope and delightful in its small details, Postwar is a rare joy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Judt's massive, learned, brilliantly detailed account of Europe's recovery from the wreckage of World War II presents a whole continent in panorama even as it sets off detonations on almost every page." --The New York Times Book Review

"Remarkable... The writing is vivid; the coverage-of little countries as well as of great ones-is virtually superhuman; and above all, the book is smart. Every page contains unexpected data, or a fresh observation, or a familar observation freshly turned." --Louis Menand, The New Yorker

"Impressive . . . Mr. Judt writes with enormous authority."--The Wall Street Journal

"Magisterial . . . It is, without a doubt, the most comprehensive, authoritative, and yes, readable postwar history." --The Boston Globe

"Brave and remakable." -- The Washington Post

"Brilliant . . . A book that has the pace of a thriller and the scope of an encyclopedia . . . A very considerable achievement." --The New York Review of Books

"Not likely to be surpassed for many years. . . . This is history writing at its best." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

From the Publisher:

A magisterial history of post-war Europe, political, social and cultural, in the tradition of Norman Davies' Europe: A History and Niall Ferguson's Empire.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780099542032: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 009954203X ISBN 13: 9780099542032
Publisher: Vintage, 2010
Softcover

9781594200656: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Pengui..., 2005
Hardcover

9780434007493: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Willia..., 2005
Hardcover

9780712665643: Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945

Pimlico, 2007
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9780143037750B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.84
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.98
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 4197971-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.19
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52YZZZ00GZHJ_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 530ZZZ00MEB4_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 536ZZZ00JSPO_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Newport Bookstore
(Pflugerville, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # newport0143037757

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Soft Cover Quantity: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.01
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Softcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER! SHIPS IN STURDY CARDBOARD PACKAGING!. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.97
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Judt, Tony
Published by Penguin Books 9/1/2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Paperback or Softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780143037750

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Judt, Tony (Author)
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143037757 ISBN 13: 9780143037750
New Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0143037757

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book