Secret of Platform 13 / Island of the Aunts Flip book

3.93 avg rating
( 10,724 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780142301630: Secret of Platform 13 / Island of the Aunts Flip book

A forgotten door on an abandoned railway platform is the entrance to a magical kingdom--an island where humans live happily with mermaids, ogres, and other wonderful creatures. Carefully hidden from the world, the Island is only accessible when the door opens for nine days every nine years. When the beastly Mrs. Trottle kidnaps the Island's young prince, it's up to a strange band of rescuers to save him. But can the rescuers--an ogre, a hag, a wizard, and a fey--sneak around London unnoticed? Fans of Roald Dahl, Lewis Carroll, and E. Nesbit will delight in this comic fantasy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Eva Ibbotson, born Maria Charlotte Michelle Wiesner (21 January 1925 20 October 2010), was an Austrian-born British novelist, known for her children's books. Some of her novels for adults have been successfully reissued for the young adult market in recent years. For the historical novel Journey to the River Sea (Macmillan, 2001), she won the Smarties Prize in category 911 years, garnered unusual commendation as runner up for the Guardian Prize, and made the Carnegie, Whitbread, and Blue Peter shortlists. She was a finalist for the 2010 Guardian Prize at the time of her death. Her last book, The Abominables, was one of eight books on the longlist for the same award in 2012.

From AudioFile:

Narrator Angela Thorne reads this fantasy story just as it should be presented--after all, fairy tales were meant to be told! There is a large and diverse cast, from humans to ogres and harpies, and each sounds believable. The prince of a faraway island is spirited away for nine years, and all of his island's unusual residents try to aid in his return from King's Cross Station, London. The prince is a spoiled brat whose difficult personality is matched only by his mother's. Thorne is at her best with these two most unpleasant characters. Truth and justice prevail after many trails and tribulations. Ibbotson's book is intended for a young audience; however, there are enough double entendres to keep Mom and Dad amused, as well. S.G.B. (c)AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eva Ibbotson
ISBN 10: 0142301639 ISBN 13: 9780142301630
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
stressfreebooks
(Bay City, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand new copy. Ships fast secure, expedited available!. Bookseller Inventory # 3UBDHI00052W

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ibbotson, Eva
Published by Puffin
ISBN 10: 0142301639 ISBN 13: 9780142301630
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Brats Bargain Books
(Waresboro, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142301639 Never Read-may have light shelf wear-publishers mark- Good Copy- I ship FAST!. Bookseller Inventory # SKU000011854

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.53
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ibbotson, Eva
Published by Puffin Books, New York, New York, U. S. A. (2001)
ISBN 10: 0142301639 ISBN 13: 9780142301630
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nan's Book Shop (IOBA)
(Glen Ellyn, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books, New York, New York, U. S. A., 2001. Softcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: No Dust Jacket. Illustrated by Hawkes, Kevin (illustrator). THE ISLAND OF THE AUNTS begins with 5 girls coming to an island with their widowed father, looking for a new life. They found a lovely, deserted place, abandoned and in ruin. So they began to repair the house, learned to fish and all things the Islanders had done before they left. The sisters worked from dawn to dusk; two sisters left the island and the ones left suddenly realized they may die some day, so they had to look for good, honest people to carry on their work with animals. 281 pages. In SECRET OF PLATFORM 13, Odge Gribble, a young hag, accompanies an old wizard, a gentle fey, and a giant ogre on their mission through a magical tunnel from their Island to London to rescue their Queen and King's son, who has been stolen as an infant. 231 pages. 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 001852

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.88
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eva Ibbotson
ISBN 10: 0142301639 ISBN 13: 9780142301630
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801423016301.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eva Ibbotson
Published by Puffin (2002)
ISBN 10: 0142301639 ISBN 13: 9780142301630
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0142301639

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Eva Ibbotson
Published by Puffin (2002)
ISBN 10: 0142301639 ISBN 13: 9780142301630
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0142301639

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ibbotson, Eva
Published by Puffin (2002)
ISBN 10: 0142301639 ISBN 13: 9780142301630
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110142301639

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Ibbotson, Eva
Published by Puffin
ISBN 10: 0142301639 ISBN 13: 9780142301630
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142301639 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1047328

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds