What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

4.14 avg rating
( 1,854 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780142180297: What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

What Are You Looking At? by Will Gompertz - a wonderfully lively and accessible history of Modern Art by the BBC Arts Editor

'An essential primer not only for art lovers but for art loathers too' **** Express

What is modern art? Why do we either love it or loathe it? And why is it worth so much damn money? Join Will Gompertz on a dazzling tour that will change the way you look at modern art forever. From Monet's water lilies to Van Gogh's sunflowers, from Warhol's soup cans to Hirst's pickled shark, hear the stories behind the masterpieces, meet the artists as they really were, and discover the real point of modern art.

You will learn: not all conceptual art is bollocks; Picasso is king (but Cézanne is better); Pollock is no drip; Dali painted with his moustache; a urinal changed the course of art, why your 5-year-old really couldn't do it. Refreshing, irreverent and always straightforward, What Are You Looking At? cuts through the pretentious art speak and asks all the basic questions that you were too afraid to ask. Your next gallery trip is going to be a little less intimidating and a lot more interesting.

'Robert Hughes's The Shock of the New redone à la Bill Bryson' ****Telegraph

This book is essential reading for sceptics, art lovers, and the millions of us who visit art galleries every year - and are confused. It will also be enjoyed by readers of The Story of Art by E.H. Gombrich and is a perfect primer to the subject for the student or beginner.

Will Gompertz is the BBC Arts Editor and probably the world's first art history stand-up comedian. He was a Director at the Tate Gallery for 7 years. He has a particular interest in modern art and has written about the arts for The Times and the Guardian for over 20 years. In 2009, he wrote and performed a sell-out one-man comedy show about modern art at the Edinburgh Festival. He was recently voted one of the world's top 50 creative thinkers by New York's Creativity Magazine.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Will Gompertz is the best teacher you never had ( Guardian)

He is a natural communicator whose passion for art is expressed with wit and verve (Sir Nicholas Serota, Director of Tate, on Will Gompertz)

Robert Hughes's The Shock of the New redone à la Bill Bryson ... few are the histories of modern art that name check Beyonce, David Foster Wallace and Susan Boyle, describe the saturnine Paul Cezanne as the 'Cool Hand Luke of the Parisian avant garde' ... Filter (s) out all jargon and pretension and filter (s) in plenty of fun ... A richly detailed and highly entertaining history from Delacroix to Damien Hirst **** ( Telegraph)

Gompertz flicks through a mental Rolodex of the world's most famous images and describes them with a freshness and vividity that brings them to life ( The Times)

Gompertz writes about difficult things - the birth of conceptualism, the link between the pyramidal compositions of Géricault's Raft of the Medusa and Delacroix's Liberty Leading the People - without letting on that they are difficult ... this romp through art from the 1860s to now is both hugely accessible and old-fashionedly educative ( Independent on Sunday)

A lively train-ride through the art movements of the modern period ...While he doesn't dumb down the subject, he does take a fresh, energetic approach ... He explains movements and "isms" with clarity and humour ( Scotsman)

Gompertz has written an energetic and comprehensive romp through modern art (Independent)

Will Gompertz is a natural communicator whose passion for art is expressed with wit and verve (Sir Nicholas Serota, Director of Tate Gallery)

About the Author:

WILL GOMPERTZ was a director at the Tate in London for seven years and is now the BBC arts editor, where he writes, presents, and produces programs about the arts. In the summer of 2009, he wrote and performed a one-man show at the Edinburgh Fringe called Double Art History, a light-hearted lecture on the story of modern art. Recently named one of the world's top fifty creative thinkers by "Creativity" magazine, he lives in Oxford.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801421802970000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 11.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gompertz, Will
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0142180297

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 10.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gompertz, Will
Published by PLUME (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PLUME, 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780142180297

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 9.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 6834433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 10.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Softcover. Book Condition: New. In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humor Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, "Is this art?" A former director at London's Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art's exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art?and why a five-year-old couldn't really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they’re looking at. Bookseller Inventory # 9125625

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 14.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Gompertz, Will
Published by Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142180297 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 16381460

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 10.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gompertz, Will
Published by Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142180297 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2121944413

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 10.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.21
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Gompertz, Will
Published by Plume (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0142180297

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 11.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.41
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Will Gompertz
Published by Plume Books, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume Books, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 212 x 138 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Eats, Shoots Leaves, art history with a sense of humor Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, Is this art? A former director at London s Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art s exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art and why a five-year-old couldn t really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they re looking at. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780142180297

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 14.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Will Gompertz
Published by Plume Books, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume Books, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 212 x 138 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Eats, Shoots Leaves, art history with a sense of humor Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, Is this art? A former director at London s Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art s exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art and why a five-year-old couldn t really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they re looking at. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780142180297

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 15.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book