Fiction J. Kent Messum Bait

ISBN 13: 9780142180259

Bait

3.41 avg rating
( 684 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780142180259: Bait

Bait is J. Kent Messum's thrilling story of survival and sanity strained to its limits.

Please know that no one will be coming to your aid

Much effort has been made to ensure this

Six strangers wake up on a remote, deserted island, with no memory of their arrival. They appear to have been chosen at random.

One of the castaways finds a letter they learn that there only chance of escape is to another island just a mile away. Across some of the most dangerous, shark-infested waters in the world. The letter ends with one simple instruction: begin when you wish.

As the group are forces to face their darkest fears they will be pushed to the very edge of sanity. The odds against survival are long.

From aboard a yacht anchored offshore, a group of shadowy figures watches them. And waits . . .

Tightly plotted and brilliantly imagined, Bait marks the debut of the exciting new thriller talent, J. Kent Messum. Fans of Irvine Welsh, Suzanne Collins and hit TV show Lost will be hooked by his story.

Praise for Bait:

'Reading J. Kent Messum's Bait is like taking a high dive into black water. What you find in its murky depths is disturbing, pulse-pounding and utterly surprising. An exhilarating debut' - Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me

'The stakes could be no higher in this crisply written, fast-paced novel that examines the shifting line between right and wrong, good and evil. Bait will keep readers turning pages late into the night' - Lori Roy, author of Bent Road and Until She Comes Home

'Jaws meets Lord of the Flies meets Drugstore Cowboy! A powerhouse debut. The horror dawns on the reader as it dawns on the characters, making for a mesmerizing, one-sitting read.' - Steve Ulfelder, author of Purgatory Chasm and The Whole Lie

J. Kent Messum is a British-Canadian writer living in Toronto. Bait is his first novel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Reading J. Kent Messum's Bait is like taking a high dive into black water. What you find in its murky depths is disturbing, pulse-pounding and utterly surprising. An exhilarating debut. ( Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me)

The stakes could be no higher in this crisply written, fast-paced novel that examines the shifting line between right and wrong, good and evil. Bait will keep readers turning pages late into the night. ( Lori Roy, author of Bent Road and Until She Comes Home)

Jaws meets Lord of the Flies meets Drugstore Cowboy! A powerhouse debut. ( Steve Ulfelder, author of Purgatory Chasm and The Whole Lie)

About the Author:

J. Kent Messum is a British-Canadian writer living in Toronto. Husk is his second novel, the follow-up to the award-winning Bait.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180254 ISBN 13: 9780142180259
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Academic Book Solutions
(Medford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New, unread, and unused. Bookseller Inventory # ABS-1147-1045

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180254 ISBN 13: 9780142180259
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 5
Seller
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142180254 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS33-9780142180259-11-8249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180254 ISBN 13: 9780142180259
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 8
Seller
ThriftTaco
(INDIAN TRAIL, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142180254 Brand new and ships pronto! 100% Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # BOOKS13-9780142180259-11-4677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

J. Kent Messum
ISBN 10: 0142180254 ISBN 13: 9780142180259
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801421802591.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Plume (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180254 ISBN 13: 9780142180259
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0142180254

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180254 ISBN 13: 9780142180259
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Weller Book Works, A.B.A.A.
(Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142180254 New book. Bookseller Inventory # WELLER9780142180259

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.98
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Plume 2013-08-27 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180254 ISBN 13: 9780142180259
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume 2013-08-27, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0142180254 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0142180254

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Messum, J. Kent
Published by Plume (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180254 ISBN 13: 9780142180259
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Plume, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110142180254

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.38
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds