The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next Novels (Penguin Books))

3.92 avg rating
( 91,128 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780142001806: The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next Novels (Penguin Books))

There is another 1985, somewhere in the could-have-been, where the Crimean war still rages, dodos are regenerated in home-cloning kits and everyone is deeply disappointed by the ending of 'Jane Eyre'. In this world there are no jet-liners or computers, but there are policemen who can travel across time, a Welsh republic, a great interest in all things literary - and a woman called Thursday Next.

In this utterly original and wonderfully funny first novel, Fforde has created a fiesty, loveable heroine and a plot of such richness and ingenuity that it will take your breath away.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Pirouetting on the boundaries between sci-fi, the crime thriller and intertextual whimsy, Jasper Fforde's outrageous The Eyre Affairputs you on the wrong footing even on its dedication page, which proudly announces that the book conforms to Crimean War economy standard.

Fforde's heroine, Thursday Next, lives in a world where time and reality are endlessly mutable--someone has ensured that the Crimean War never ended for example--a world policed by men like her disgraced father, whose name has been edited out of existence. She herself polices text--against men like the Moriarty-like Acheron Styx, whose current scam is to hold the minor characters of Dickens' novels to ransom, entering the manuscript and abducting them for execution and extinction one by one. When that caper goes sour, Styx moves on to the nation's most beloved novel--an oddly truncated version of Jane Eyre--and kidnaps its heroine. The phlegmatic and resourceful Thursday pursues Acheron across the border into a Leninist Wales and further to Mr Rochester's Thornfield Hall, where both books find their climax on the roof amid flames.

Fforde is endlessly inventive: his heroine's utter unconcern about the strangeness of the world she inhabits keeps the reader perpetually double-taking as minor certainties of history, literature and cuisine go soggy in the corner of our eye. The audacity of the premise and its working out provides sudden leaps of understanding, many of them accompanied by wild fits of the giggles. This is a peculiarly promising first novel. --Roz Kaveney

Review:

[She's] part Bridget Jones, part Nancy Drew and part Dirty Harry ( Michiko Kakutani, New York Times, on Thursday Next)

Delightfully clever ... Filled with clever wordplay, literary allusion and bibliowit, THE EYRE AFFAIR combines elements of Monty Python, Harry Potter, Stephen Hawking and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. But its quirky charm is all its own. ( Wall Street Journal)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fforde, Jasper
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801420018060000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Fforde, Jasper
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 3
Seller
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142001805 Great book !! Established seller with great ratings! A+ Customer Service! Orders ship from the USA!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0142001805ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jasper Fforde
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The first installment in Jasper Fforde s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde s Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it s a bibliophile s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Bronte s novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde s ingenious fantasy--enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel--unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday s zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit . Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780142001806

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Fforde, Jasper (Author)
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0142001805

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jasper Fforde
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2003)
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The first installment in Jasper Fforde s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde s Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it s a bibliophile s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Bronte s novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde s ingenious fantasy--enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel--unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday s zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit . Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780142001806

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Fforde, Jasper
Published by PENGUIN GROUP (2003)
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PENGUIN GROUP, 2003. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780142001806

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Fforde, Jasper
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0142001805BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Fforde, Jasper
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 815587

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Fforde, Jasper
Published by Penguin USA, E Rutherford, New Jersey, U.S.A. (2003)
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New Trade Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Sly Fox
(Virden, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin USA, E Rutherford, New Jersey, U.S.A., 2003. Trade Paperback. Book Condition: New. No Jacket. 1st U.S. Trade Paperback Edition, 13th P. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Nice, unsold, unread, first U.S. trade paperback edition, 13th printing of this offbeat parody on mystery novels, featuring Thursday Next. Ships in a box, fast service from a real bricks and mortar independent bookstore open since 1998. Bookseller Inventory # 007077

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Fforde, Jasper
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0142001805 ISBN 13: 9780142001806
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142001805 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2122087026

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book