Coal: A Human History

3.7 avg rating
( 1,431 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780142000984: Coal: A Human History

The Romans called it 'the best stone in Britain' and used it to make jewellery. Coal has transformed societies and launched empires. It fuelled the industrial revolution, inspired the Communist manifesto, and was a catalyst for some of the greatest inventions of all time - from the steam engine to the railroad. Taking us on a rich historical journey that begins hundreds of years ago on the banks of the River Tyne and spanned the globe, Barbara Freese shows us the profound and often surprising role coal has played in human history. A gifted and lively storyteller, Barbara Freese tells the riveting story of how a shiny black lump changed the modern world.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'Freese has the reader eating out of her hand... A marvellous book.' -- Liza Picard, author of Elizabeth's London

'enthralling... Her style is engaging, her research impressive, her message an important one.'' -- Howard Zinn, author of A People's History of the United States

'illuminating, often startling... An egaging book, with surprises on virtually every page.' -- Ross Gelbspan, author of The Heat is On

an engaging and interesting book, tightly documented and consistently readable -- Daily Telegraph

elegant' & 'valuable -- The Sunday Times

From the Publisher:

A brilliant, short gem of a book on the small black stone that fuelled the industrial revolution and Britain's rise to Empire, and still powers the world. For fans of Cod and Salt and readers interested in the business of energy.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Freese, Barbara
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 17
Seller
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142000981 Great book !! Established seller with great ratings! A+ Customer Service! Orders ship from the USA!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0142000981ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Freese, Barbara
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0142000981 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2122065992

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

BARBARA FREESE
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Bibliophile
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. P. Bookseller Inventory # 78162

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Freese, Barbara
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AMAZINGBOOKDEALS
(IRVING, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW. Fast Shipping. Prompt Customer Service. Satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # 0142000981BNA

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Barbara Freese
Published by Penguin Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0142000981

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Freese, Barbara
Published by Penguin Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # INGM9780142000984

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Barbara Freese
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801420009841.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Freese, Barbara
Published by Penguin Books 2004-01-27 (2004)
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books 2004-01-27, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0142000981 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0142000981

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Barbara Freese
Published by Penguin Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0142000981

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Freese, Barbara
Published by Penguin Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0142000981 ISBN 13: 9780142000984
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110142000981

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.38
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds