Eoin Colfer The Legend of Spud Murphy

ISBN 13: 9780141380162

The Legend of Spud Murphy

3.87 avg rating
( 1,134 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780141380162: The Legend of Spud Murphy

During the hoidays, Will and his big brother Marty are packed off to the library, the home of the dreaded librarian Spud Murphy, who uses a spud gun on kids who put a foot wrong. Eventually, Will and Marty discover a love of books and that Mrs Murphy isn't so bad after all.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Eoin Colfer, the second of five brothers, was born and raised in Wexford, a seaside town in the south-east of Ireland. His first novel, Benny and Omar was an instant bestseller in Ireland, and Artemis Fowl, his first book featuring the brilliant young anti-hero was an immediate international bestseller. It was winner of both the WHSmith 'People's Choice' Children's Book of the Year and the Children's Book of the Year at the British Book Awards, and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year and the Blue Peter Book Award.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 2-4–This hilarious offering is the first in a new chapter-book series. When their parents become fed up with their boisterous behavior during summer vacation, Will and Marty Woodman are forced to do something educational: "Reading. It's perfect. How can you get into trouble reading a book?" The brothers will spend time at the library, despite their worries about the librarian, Mrs. "Spud" Murphy, who is feared by all children. According to the rumors, she uses a gas-powered gun to shoot potatoes at kids who make too much noise. When Mom drops them off later that afternoon, Mrs. Murphy leads them to the children's section and warns them that they are not to venture off of the carpet. Readers will immediately pick up that Marty has a problem following the rules and trouble ensues when he steps off the rug to cause some mischief. However, he has met his match in Spud, who silently appears on the scene like a "ninja librarian." The cartoon illustrations enhance the funny mood of the story. Youngsters, especially reluctant readers, will laugh out loud at this clever book, which can also be read aloud. A good choice for fans of Dav Pilkey, Jon Scieszka, and Ian Whybrow.–Christine McGinty, Albany Public Library, NY
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Colfer, Eoin; Ross, Tony [Illustrator]
Published by Puffin Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0141380160 ISBN 13: 9780141380162
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0141380160

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
78.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds