The Legend of Spud Murphy. Eoin Colfer (Young Puffin Story Books)

3.87 avg rating
( 1,134 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780141317083: The Legend of Spud Murphy. Eoin Colfer (Young Puffin Story Books)

Will has four brothers and it's chaos in his house! If he's not being teased by his big brother Marty, he has to deal with the terrible, three-headed bundle of cuteness that is his three younger brothers. Even worse, his mother has the brilliant idea of packing Will and Marty off to the library during the holidays. She just doesn't understand! Not only is the library no fun, it's also the habitat of the legendary librarian Spud Murphy. If you put a foot wrong, it's rumoured she will use her dreaded gas-powered spud gun and you don't want that - just ask Ugly Frank how he got his nickname! Eventually Will and Marty discover a love of books and that Mrs Murphy isn't so bad after all!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Eoin Colfer, the second of five brothers, was born and raised in Wexford, a seaside town in the south-east of Ireland. His first novel, Benny and Omar was an instant bestseller in Ireland, and Artemis Fowl, his first book featuring the brilliant young anti-hero was an immediate international bestseller. It was winner of both the WHSmith 'People's Choice' Children's Book of the Year and the Children's Book of the Year at the British Book Awards, and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year and the Blue Peter Book Award.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 2-4–This hilarious offering is the first in a new chapter-book series. When their parents become fed up with their boisterous behavior during summer vacation, Will and Marty Woodman are forced to do something educational: "Reading. It's perfect. How can you get into trouble reading a book?" The brothers will spend time at the library, despite their worries about the librarian, Mrs. "Spud" Murphy, who is feared by all children. According to the rumors, she uses a gas-powered gun to shoot potatoes at kids who make too much noise. When Mom drops them off later that afternoon, Mrs. Murphy leads them to the children's section and warns them that they are not to venture off of the carpet. Readers will immediately pick up that Marty has a problem following the rules and trouble ensues when he steps off the rug to cause some mischief. However, he has met his match in Spud, who silently appears on the scene like a "ninja librarian." The cartoon illustrations enhance the funny mood of the story. Youngsters, especially reluctant readers, will laugh out loud at this clever book, which can also be read aloud. A good choice for fans of Dav Pilkey, Jon Scieszka, and Ian Whybrow.–Christine McGinty, Albany Public Library, NY
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eoin Colfer
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Will has four brothers and it s chaos in his house! If he s not being teased by his big brother Marty, he has to deal with the terrible, three-headed bundle of cuteness that is his three younger brothers. Even worse, his mother has the brilliant idea of packing Will and Marty off to the library during the holidays. She just doesn t understand! Not only is the library no fun, it s also the habitat of the legendary librarian Spud Murphy. If you put a foot wrong, it s rumoured she will use her dreaded gas-powered spud gun and you don t want that - just ask Ugly Frank how he got his nickname! Eventually Will and Marty discover a love of books and that Mrs Murphy isn t so bad after all!. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780141317083

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Eoin Colfer
Published by Puffin (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000198985

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Eoin Colfer
Published by Puffin 2005-01-06 (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin 2005-01-06, 2005. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BER-00027328

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eoin Colfer
Published by Puffin 2005-01-06 (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin 2005-01-06, 2005. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00485032

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eoin Colfer
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Will has four brothers and it s chaos in his house! If he s not being teased by his big brother Marty, he has to deal with the terrible, three-headed bundle of cuteness that is his three younger brothers. Even worse, his mother has the brilliant idea of packing Will and Marty off to the library during the holidays. She just doesn t understand! Not only is the library no fun, it s also the habitat of the legendary librarian Spud Murphy. If you put a foot wrong, it s rumoured she will use her dreaded gas-powered spud gun and you don t want that - just ask Ugly Frank how he got his nickname! Eventually Will and Marty discover a love of books and that Mrs Murphy isn t so bad after all!. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780141317083

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Eoin Colfer
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0141317086. Bookseller Inventory # ST0141317086

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Eoin Colfer
Published by Puffin
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780141317083

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Colfer, Eoin
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Publisher/Verlag: Penguin UK | Will has four brothers and it's chaos in his house! If he's not being teased by his big brother Marty, he has to deal with the terrible, three-headed bundle of cuteness that is his three younger brothers. Even worse, his mother has the brilliant idea of packing Will and Marty off to the library during the holidays. She just doesn't understand! Not only is the library no fun, it's also the habitat of the legendary librarian Spud Murphy. If you put a foot wrong, it's rumoured she will use her dreaded gas-powered spud gun and you don't want that - just ask Ugly Frank how he got his nickname! Eventually Will and Marty discover a love of books and that Mrs Murphy isn't so bad after all! | Format: Paperback | Language/Sprache: english | 75 gr | 198x129x6 mm | 96 pp. Bookseller Inventory # K9780141317083

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Eoin Colfer
Published by Puffin (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2005. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780141317083_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Colfer, Eoin (Author)
Published by Puffin (2005)
ISBN 10: 0141317086 ISBN 13: 9780141317083
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 2005. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 96 pages. 7.24x4.88x0.39 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0141317086

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book