Carrie's War (Puffin Modern Classics)

3.86 avg rating
( 5,567 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780141301624: Carrie's War (Puffin Modern Classics)

Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.

'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...'

It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.

Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...

Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years.

'Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph

***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.***

Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

I doubt that anything will beat this traditional page-to-stage adaptation for ceaselessly involving telling of a cracking story." Fiona Mountford, Evening Standard

About the Author:

Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nina Bawden
Published by Puffin (1998)
ISBN 10: 0141301627 ISBN 13: 9780141301624
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 141301627

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
84.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds