Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys

3.68 avg rating
( 794 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780141040219: Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys

Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys - stories by Booker-shortlisted author Will Self

'Self at his most nihilistic and funny; you'll laugh and flinch at the same time' Guardian

'Self has turned out an hilarious collection, with the requisite touch of disorientation. "Flytopia", the story about a man who suddenly finds flies more lovable than his girlfriend, follows the Kafkaesque line Self opened with his recent novel Great Apes - man as animal ... "Story for Europe", about a two-year-old north Londoner who suddenly starts speaking business German, is comic genius' Brenda Maddox, New Statesman

'When Will Self wants to step outside his cultivated amoral threshold and shock us into rage, the effect can be profound ... an awesome London Dungeon of a collection ... Self is a massive talent' Time Out

'He has a powerful sense of place: the murkier streets of London ... where anything can happen ... And modernity is his urgent subject' The Times

For readers of The Book of Dave and Umbrella, Tough, Tough Boys... will also be adored by readers of Martin Amis, David Mitchell and Irvine Welsh.

Will Self is the author of nine novels including Cock and Bull; My Idea of Fun; Great Apes; How the Dead Live; Dorian, an Imitation; The Book of Dave; The Butt; Walking to Hollywood and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. He has written five collections of shorter fiction and three novellas: The Quantity Theory of Insanity; Grey Area; License to Hug; The Sweet Smell of Psychosis; Design Faults in the Volvo 760 Turbo; Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys; Dr. Mukti and Other Tales of Woe and Liver: A Fictional Organ with a Surface Anatomy of Four Lobes. Self has also compiled a number of nonfiction works, including The Undivided Self: Selected Stories; Junk Mail; Perfidious Man; Sore Sites; Feeding Frenzy; Psychogeography; Psycho Too and The Unbearable Lightness of Being a Prawn Cracker.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Paperback. Pub Date: 2009 Pages: 256 Publisher: Penguin Self at His most Nihilistic and funny; and Flinch you'll laugh at the same time '- Guardian' Self has turned out a hilarious collection with the requisite touch of disorientation. Flytopia. the story about a man who suddenly finds flies more lovable than his girlfriend. follows the Kafkaesque line Self opened with his recent novel Great Apes - man as animal ... Story for Europe. about a two-year-old north Londoner who suddenly starts speaking business German. is comic genius' - New Statesman. 'When Will Self wants to step outside his cultivated amoral threshold and shock us into rage. the effect can be profound. This is Self's third short-story collection and like all the best books it delivers what its title promises ... an awesome London Dungeon of a collection ... Self is a massive talent' - Time Out.

Review:

Will Self's tabloid-friendly reputation as a connoisseur of proscribed substances should not obscure the fact that he can write many of his contemporaries under the table. Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys, is filled with typically Selfish confections: gritty chunks of reality wrapped in a sweet shell of exquisitely funny and intelligent writing. Admittedly, some of the stories here feel a little underdeveloped, as if the author were flexing his literary muscles and showing how easily he can make highbrow style dirty-dance with his lowbrow obsessions, but even the least of them is a bravura performance by an expert wordsmith. Self's obvious pleasure in bringing his extraordinary talents to bear on the seamiest of subjects is irresistible: the description of a crack cocaine rush that closes the first story, for example, is quite possibly more intoxicating than the drug itself.

But the greater part of the book complements that dazzling style with deeper pleasures. As he ranges from the hilarious tale of a remarkable infant who babbles in business German ("Bemess-bemess-bemessungsgrundlage!") to a troubled psychiatrist's journey toward the abyss, Self shows an uncanny knack for mixing realism and absurdity. The closing piece, a short novella about a wrongly convicted sex offender's attempt to win a short-story prize, is the most assured of all. In this author's hands, the barely articulate conversations of career criminals are transformed into poetry, and the struggles of the central character are both moving and wickedly funny:

In prison, in the English winter, the word crepuscular acquires new resonance, new intensity. For here and now is an eternity of forty-watt bulbs, an Empty Quarter of linoleum and a lost world of distempered walls. It's an environment of corridors and walkways, a space that taunts with the idea of progression towards arrival; then delivers only a TV room full of modular plastic chairs and Styrofoam beakers napalmed by fag ends.

In Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys Will Self shows once again that he's someone to be reckoned with. The kind of writer a society needs, he uses his wit as a crowbar to pry open the cracks in our culture. --Simon Leake

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Will Self
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0141040211 ISBN 13: 9780141040219
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys - stories by Booker-shortlisted author Will Self Self at his most nihilistic and funny; you ll laugh and flinch at the same time Guardian Self has turned out an hilarious collection, with the requisite touch of disorientation. Flytopia , the story about a man who suddenly finds flies more lovable than his girlfriend, follows the Kafkaesque line Self opened with his recent novel Great Apes - man as animal . Story for Europe , about a two-year-old north Londoner who suddenly starts speaking business German, is comic genius Brenda Maddox, New Statesman When Will Self wants to step outside his cultivated amoral threshold and shock us into rage, the effect can be profound .an awesome London Dungeon of a collection .Self is a massive talent Time Out He has a powerful sense of place: the murkier streets of London .where anything can happen .And modernity is his urgent subject The Times For readers of The Book of Dave and Umbrella, Tough, Tough Boys.will also be adored by readers of Martin Amis, David Mitchell and Irvine Welsh. Will Self is the author of nine novels including Cock and Bull; My Idea of Fun; Great Apes; How the Dead Live; Dorian, an Imitation; The Book of Dave; The Butt; Walking to Hollywood and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. He has written five collections of shorter fiction and three novellas: The Quantity Theory of Insanity; Grey Area; License to Hug; The Sweet Smell of Psychosis; Design Faults in the Volvo 760 Turbo; Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys; Dr. Mukti and Other Tales of Woe and Liver: A Fictional Organ with a Surface Anatomy of Four Lobes. Self has also compiled a number of nonfiction works, including The Undivided Self: Selected Stories; Junk Mail; Perfidious Man; Sore Sites; Feeding Frenzy; Psychogeography; Psycho Too and The Unbearable Lightness of Being a Prawn Cracker. Bookseller Inventory # AAW9780141040219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Will Self
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0141040211 ISBN 13: 9780141040219
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys - stories by Booker-shortlisted author Will Self Self at his most nihilistic and funny; you ll laugh and flinch at the same time Guardian Self has turned out an hilarious collection, with the requisite touch of disorientation. Flytopia , the story about a man who suddenly finds flies more lovable than his girlfriend, follows the Kafkaesque line Self opened with his recent novel Great Apes - man as animal . Story for Europe , about a two-year-old north Londoner who suddenly starts speaking business German, is comic genius Brenda Maddox, New Statesman When Will Self wants to step outside his cultivated amoral threshold and shock us into rage, the effect can be profound .an awesome London Dungeon of a collection .Self is a massive talent Time Out He has a powerful sense of place: the murkier streets of London .where anything can happen .And modernity is his urgent subject The Times For readers of The Book of Dave and Umbrella, Tough, Tough Boys.will also be adored by readers of Martin Amis, David Mitchell and Irvine Welsh. Will Self is the author of nine novels including Cock and Bull; My Idea of Fun; Great Apes; How the Dead Live; Dorian, an Imitation; The Book of Dave; The Butt; Walking to Hollywood and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. He has written five collections of shorter fiction and three novellas: The Quantity Theory of Insanity; Grey Area; License to Hug; The Sweet Smell of Psychosis; Design Faults in the Volvo 760 Turbo; Tough, Tough Toys for Tough, Tough Boys; Dr. Mukti and Other Tales of Woe and Liver: A Fictional Organ with a Surface Anatomy of Four Lobes. Self has also compiled a number of nonfiction works, including The Undivided Self: Selected Stories; Junk Mail; Perfidious Man; Sore Sites; Feeding Frenzy; Psychogeography; Psycho Too and The Unbearable Lightness of Being a Prawn Cracker. Bookseller Inventory # AAW9780141040219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Self, Will
Published by Penguin Books (2009)
ISBN 10: 0141040211 ISBN 13: 9780141040219
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0141040211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds