Nguyen, Bich Minh Short Girls

ISBN 13: 9780141039176

Short Girls

3.24 avg rating
( 794 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780141039176: Short Girls

Sisters Van and Linny - like their father - are short. But they couldn't be more different. Van's the overachiever - a high-flying lawyer with a pristine home and husband, until the husband walks out. Linny is fashionable, flighty, works for a catering firm called You Did It Dinners and has just been told by her married lover that he's sticking with his wife.

So much to talk about. And yet they don't.

However, when their father invents a device to enable short people to reach high objects but needs to become an American citizen to sell it, the sisters are forced to work together to help him. If he's ever to succeed in an American Idol-style reality TV show for desperate inventors, Van and Linny must put aside their differences and admit what it is they have in common . . .

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

A funny, heart-warming take on family unity and cultural identity ( Marie Claire)

Loaded with tender charm and wry, lightly observed insights ( Daily Mail)

A smoothly pleasurable read ( Guardian)

Fans of Amy Tan and Monica Ali will love Short Girls, which has already been dubbed a Vietnamese The Joy Luck Club ( Red)

An intelligent, bittersweet debut novel ( Sunday Times)

Nguyen is an amusing observer of assimilation angst...this gentle-comedy of inter-generational strife is a polished and poised affair ( Independent)

About the Author:

Bich Minh Nguyen is the author of the memoir Stealing Buddha's Dinner. She teaches at Purdue University and lives in Chicago and West Lafayette.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nguyen, Bich Minh (Author)
Published by Penguin (2010)
ISBN 10: 0141039175 ISBN 13: 9780141039176
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 304 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0141039175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
18.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Nguyen, Bich Minh
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (2010)
ISBN 10: 0141039175 ISBN 13: 9780141039176
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0141039175

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
33.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds