Lark Rise to Candleford (Penguin audiobooks)

3.95 avg rating
( 2,330 ratings by GoodReads )
9780140861174: Lark Rise to Candleford (Penguin audiobooks)

Just when rural Victorian England was shifting from time-honored country ways to a more industrialized suburban lifestyle, Flora Thompson captured this vanishing world of village life. With a keen eye and gentle, heartfelt wit, she presents an elegy to her childhood and adolescence and a picture of the world that is now a cherished part of the past.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


This gorgeous gift edition of the classic...will be treasured by a new generation of readers. ( Family History Monthly)

About the Author:

Flora Thompson was born in 1876 at Juniper Hill, a hamlet on the Oxfordshire-Northamptonshire border described in Lark Rise. After leaving school at the age of fourteen, she was sent to assist the village postmistress, who also kept the smithy, and appears prominently in Candleford Green. After her marriage she moved to Bournemouth, and it was there that she started to write. The trilogy of Lark Rise (1939), Over to Candleford (1941), and Candleford Green (1943) was followed by a fourth autobiographical volume, Still Glides the Stream (1948), published the after Flora Thompson's death in Devon in May 1947.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Thompson, Flora
Published by Penguin Audio (1996)
ISBN 10: 0140861173 ISBN 13: 9780140861174
New Quantity Available: 1
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin Audio, 1996. Audio Book(Cassette). Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-007-37-4854104

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds