The Christmas Books: "the Cricket on the Hearth"; "the Battle of Life"; and "the Haunted Man" Vol 2 (Penguin Classics)

9780140439762: The Christmas Books:

Set in a pantomime world of toys, Dickens' Christmas stories were accclaimed by Thackeray as a "crammed with extra bonbons, french plums and sweetnesses...a Christmas pageant which you witness in the arm-chair". Of the stories in this volume "The Battle of Life", subtitled "A Love Story" has little in common with the other Christmas tales, although it does share the theme of the morally beneficial effects of memory, which runs throughout the genre and is central to another story in this collection, "The Haunted Man". This last christmas story contains one of Dickens's greatest comic families - the Tetterbys - and a horrifying, concentrated poignancy in its depiction of the "hungry 'forties" which foreshadowed the achievement of Bleak House. "The first novella in this volume, "The Cricket on the Hearth" is regocnizeably Dickensian - a morality tale of literal and figurative blindness and an admonishment for charity.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

The classic, definitive, world-famous Nonesuch Press edition of 1937, finally available again and bound in leather and linen. The text in these stunning volumes is taken from the 1867 Chapman and Hall edition, which became known as the Charles Dickens edition and was the last edition to be corrected by the author himself. The Nonesuch edition contains full-color illustrations selected by Dickens himself, by artists including Hablot Knight Browne ("Phiz"), George Cruikshank, John Leech, Robert Seymour, and George Cattermole.

The Nonesuch Dickens reproduces the original elegance of these beautiful editions. Books are printed on natural cream-shade high quality stock, quarter bound in bonded leather with cloth sides, include a ribbon marker, and feature special printed endpapers. Each volume is wrapped in a protective, clear acetate jacket.

The books are available as individual volumes, or as sets. The six-volume set contains Oliver Twist, Bleak House, Christmas Books, Nicholas Nickleby, David Copperfield, and Great Expectations together with Hard Times. The three-volume set contains A Tale of Two Cities, Little Dorrit, and The Life and Adventures of Martin Chuzzlewit.

About the Author:

Charles Dickens (1812–1870) is considered one of the English language's greatest writers. His works include The Adventures of Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, Great Expectations, The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby, and A Tale of Two Cities.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want