Dublin Tenement Life: An Oral History

3.95 avg rating
( 38 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140296259: Dublin Tenement Life: An Oral History

In Dublin Tenement Life, historian Kevin C. Kearns presents a fascinating, often heartbreaking look at life in the slums of Dublin from the early nineteenth century to the middle of the twentieth. Gathering original and authentic oral testimonies from survivors of the old Dublin tenements and presenting along with the social and historical background, as well as a valuable collection of photographs, Kearns shows what life was like in Europe's most wretched slums. Their accounts are sometimes tragic, but always moving. Equally, they are an inspiring chronicle of struggle, survival, and the triumph of the human spirit.

For readers of books such as A Star Called Henry or Angela's Ashes, for fans of Studs Terkel--or for anyone fascinated by modern Irish history--Dublin Tenement Life will fill a gap in our knowledge about Irish urban life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Kevin C. Kearns, is a social historian and professor emeritus at the University of Northern Colorado. He has conducted twenty-eight research trips to Ireland and written seven books on Dublin, including Dublin Pub Life and Lore: An Oral History.

Review:

A fascinating and vital book that captures perfectly the voices, smells and sounds of a way of life.... -- Roddy Doyle

Among the finest books ever written about Dublin. -- The Sunday Tribune

This book will long stand as the definitive social history of Ireland's gulags. -- Sunday Press

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kevin C. Kearns
Published by Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140296255 ISBN 13: 9780140296259
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0140296255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kevin C. Kearns
Published by Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140296255 ISBN 13: 9780140296259
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0140296255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
22.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kearns, Kevin C.
Published by Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140296255 ISBN 13: 9780140296259
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110140296255

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
29.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kearns, Kevin C.
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140296255 ISBN 13: 9780140296259
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0140296255 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0027354

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.79
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds