Letters from Yellowstone

3.71 avg rating
( 900 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140291810: Letters from Yellowstone

In the spring of 1898, A. E. (Alexandria) Bartram--a spirited young woman with a love for botany--is invited to join a field study in Yellowstone National Park. The study's leader, a mild-mannered professor from Montana, assumes she is a man, and is less than pleased to discover the truth. Once the scientists overcome the shock of having a woman on their team, they forge ahead on a summer of adventure, forming an enlightening web of relationships as they move from Mammoth Hot Springs to a camp high in the backcountry. But as they make their way collecting amid Yellowstone's beauty the group is splintered by differing views on science, nature, and economics. In the tradition of A. S. Byatt's Angels and Insects and Andrea Barrett's Ship Fever, this delightful novel captures an ever-fascinating era and one woman's attempt to take charge of her life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

IN STUNNING TURN-OF-THE-CENTURY YELLOWSTONE, A YOUNG WOMAN EXPERIENCES THE JOYS OF THE WILDERNESS AND THE PASSION OF DISCOVERY

In the spring of 1898, A. E. (Alexandria) Bartram -- a feisty young woman with a love for botany -- is invited to join a field study in Yellowstone National Park. Its leader, a mild-mannered professor from Montana, mistakenly assumes she is a man, and is less than pleased to discover the truth. Once the scientists overcome the shock of having a woman on their team, they forge ahead on a summer of adventure, forming an enlightening web of relationships as they move from Mammoth Hot Springs to a camp high in the backcountry. But as they make their way collecting amid Yellowstone's pristine beauty -- threatened even a century ago by misguided tourism -- the group is splintered by differing views on science, nature, and economics.

This delightful epistolary novel captures an ever-fascinating era and charts one woman's dramatic journey to a greater understanding of herself and her place in the world.

About the Author:

Diane Smith has worked for the last fifteen years as a writer specializing in science and the environment. Her first novel, Letters from Yellowstone, was the winner of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Fiction Prize and was nominated in the fiction category for the Mountains and Plains Booksellers Book Awards.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Diane Smith
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801402918100000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Diane Smith
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the spring of 1898, A. E. (Alexandria) Bartram--a spirited young woman with a love for botany--is invited to join a field study in Yellowstone National Park. The study s leader, a mild-mannered professor from Montana, assumes she is a man, and is less than pleased to discover the truth. Once the scientists overcome the shock of having a woman on their team, they forge ahead on a summer of adventure, forming an enlightening web of relationships as they move from Mammoth Hot Springs to a camp high in the backcountry. But as they make their way collecting amid Yellowstone s beauty the group is splintered by differing views on science, nature, and economics. In the tradition of A. S. Byatt s Angels and Insects and Andrea Barrett s Ship Fever, this delightful novel captures an ever-fascinating era and one woman s attempt to take charge of her life. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780140291810

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Diane Smith
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the spring of 1898, A. E. (Alexandria) Bartram--a spirited young woman with a love for botany--is invited to join a field study in Yellowstone National Park. The study s leader, a mild-mannered professor from Montana, assumes she is a man, and is less than pleased to discover the truth. Once the scientists overcome the shock of having a woman on their team, they forge ahead on a summer of adventure, forming an enlightening web of relationships as they move from Mammoth Hot Springs to a camp high in the backcountry. But as they make their way collecting amid Yellowstone s beauty the group is splintered by differing views on science, nature, and economics. In the tradition of A. S. Byatt s Angels and Insects and Andrea Barrett s Ship Fever, this delightful novel captures an ever-fascinating era and one woman s attempt to take charge of her life. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780140291810

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Smith, Diane
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2000. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780140291810

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Diane Smith
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reissue. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In the spring of 1898, A. E. (Alexandria) Bartram--a spirited young woman with a love for botany--is invited to join a field study in Yellowstone National Park. The study s leader, a mild-mannered professor from Montana, assumes she is a man, and is less than pleased to discover the truth. Once the scientists overcome the shock of having a woman on their team, they forge ahead on a summer of adventure, forming an enlightening web of relationships as they move from Mammoth Hot Springs to a camp high in the backcountry. But as they make their way collecting amid Yellowstone s beauty the group is splintered by differing views on science, nature, and economics. In the tradition of A. S. Byatt s Angels and Insects and Andrea Barrett s Ship Fever, this delightful novel captures an ever-fascinating era and one woman s attempt to take charge of her life. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780140291810

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Smith, Diane (Author)
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0140291814

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Smith, Diane
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0140291814 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132204540

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Diane Smith
Published by Penguin Group USA
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Paperback Quantity Available: 13
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Group USA. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 256 pages. Dimensions: 8.1in. x 5.1in. x 0.6in.In the spring of 1898, A. E. (Alexandria) Bartram--a spirited young woman with a love for botany--is invited to join a field study in Yellowstone National Park. The studys leader, a mild-mannered professor from Montana, assumes she is a man, and is less than pleased to discover the truth. Once the scientists overcome the shock of having a woman on their team, they forge ahead on a summer of adventure, forming an enlightening web of relationships as they move from Mammoth Hot Springs to a camp high in the backcountry. But as they make their way collecting amid Yellowstones beauty the group is splintered by differing views on science, nature, and economics. In the tradition of A. S. Byatts Angels and Insects and Andrea Barretts Ship Fever, this delightful novel captures an ever-fascinating era and one womans attempt to take charge of her life. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780140291810

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Smith, Diane
Published by Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # BKTY9780140291810

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Diane Smith
Published by Penguin Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0140291814 ISBN 13: 9780140291810
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0140291814

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book