The Collected Stories of Angus Wilson

4 avg rating
( 4 ratings by Goodreads )
9780140159646: The Collected Stories of Angus Wilson

A collection of short stories by the author of "Setting the World on Fire", "Late Call" and "As If By Magic".

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

Celebrated for her much-admired novels, including The Heat of the Day and The Death of the Heart, Bowen established herself in the front rank of the century's writers equally through her short fiction.

From the Back Cover:


'Bowen's stories show the awesome capabilities of the English language and the surprise and mystery of the human soul' Anne Tyler

Throughout these seventy-nine stories - love stories, ghost stories, stories of childhood, of English middle-class life in the twenties and thirties, of London during the Blitz - Elizabeth Bowen combines social comedy and reportage, perception and vision in an oeuvre which reveals, as Angus Wilson affirms in his introduction, that 'the instinctive artist is there at the very heart of her work'.

See also: The Death of the Heart

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Wilson, Angus
Published by Penguin Books (1992)
ISBN 10: 0140159649 ISBN 13: 9780140159646
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin Books, 1992. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110140159649

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.33
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds