The Death of a Ghost

3.9 avg rating
( 1,468 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140115529: The Death of a Ghost

The painter John Lafcadio was brilliantly talented and, it appears, a bit psychic: Certain that his reputation would improve dramatically after his death, he left several paintings with his agent, along with the instruction that the widowed Mme. Lafcadio should wait a suitable interval and then begin doling out the work to a newly ravenous public, selling the paintings at the rate of one per year. Albert Campion, an old friend of the widow's, is among the guests at Lafcadio's fourth such posthumous vernissage. The event is a success for all but one of attendees -- a young artist who is brutally murdered while others are sipping champagne. Shortly thereafter the wife of another painter in the Lafcadios' circle is poisoned, and Campion begins asking questions -- a dangerous habit with a murderer around.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Margery Allingham is one of the best-known names in mystery fiction. The "Campion" novels have been extensively televised, and broadcast in the U.S. and the UK; a new series is currently under option. Who's Likely to Like This? Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Edmund Crispin and other writers of Britain's "Golden Age"

Review:

"Wonderfully plotted...Allingham was a rare and precious talent" --Washington Post

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Margery Allingham
Published by Penguin (1942)
ISBN 10: 0140115528 ISBN 13: 9780140115529
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 1942. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 140115528

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
137.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds