The Crime at Black Dudley (Classic Crime)

3.66 avg rating
( 3,747 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780140093810: The Crime at Black Dudley (Classic Crime)

A house-party with a glittering guest-list. An imposing country estate with endless shadowy staircases and unused rooms. The breathless period between the two world wars. It's the ideal setting for the classic English murder mystery, and bringing it to perfection is the introduction in a supporting role, for the first and last time of Albert Campion, the consummate (if compulsively quipping) Gentleman Sleuth. The guests take some time to be grateful for Campion's presence; he is a bit peculiar, and they have more than enough distractions, what with various complicated love affairs, a curious ritual involving a jewelled dagger, and a deadly game of hide-and-seek. But the savvy reader will be singing hosannas from Campion's first appearance, knowing that it marks the beginning of one of the most intelligent and delightful series in the history of crime fiction. "An extremely fine tale of death in an English country house" New York Times "In Margery Allingham's hands the detective novel is transformed from a craft into an art" The Sunday Telegraph (UK) Fans of Dorothy L. Sayers, Agatha Christie, and the Golden Age of British Mystery

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"The queen of crime writing’s golden age" ( Daily Telegraph)

"Always of the elect, Margery Allingham now towers above them" ( Observer)

"Margery Allingham deserves to be rediscovered" (P.D. James)

"Don't start reading these books unless you are confident that you can handle addiction" ( Independent)

"Margery Allingham stands out like a shining light" (Agatha Christie)

Book Description:

An early Allingham, Campion is on peak form here as he must solve a murder case at a Manor house.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books (1990)
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1990. Book Condition: Good. New edition. N/A. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP68334655

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books (1990)
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 1990. Book Condition: Good. New edition. N/A. Ships from the UK. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP86016287

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G0140093818I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Allingham, Margery
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
PreLoved ltd
(AYLESBURY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Bookseller Inventory # PL00104476B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Allingham, Margery
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001411945

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Allingham, Margery
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001200652

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Allingham, Margery
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. A readable copy of the book which may include some defects such as highlighting and notes. Cover and pages may be creased and show discolouration. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001154224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000199767

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
INSIGNIA BOOKS
(doncaster, SY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Good. 0140093818. Bookseller Inventory # CCC0008459

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
4
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0140093818 ISBN 13: 9780140093810
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
INSIGNIA BOOKS
(doncaster, SY, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Good. 0140093818 CREASES TO COVER. Bookseller Inventory # HHH0000169

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
4
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds