Death of a Ghost (Classic Crime)

3.9 avg rating
( 1,464 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780140084238: Death of a Ghost (Classic Crime)

The painter John Lafcadio was brilliantly talented and, it appears, a bit psychic: Certain that his reputation would improve dramatically after his death, he left several paintings with his agent, along with the instruction that the widowed Mme. Lafcadio should wait a suitable interval and then begin doling out the work to a newly ravenous public, selling the paintings at the rate of one per year. Albert Campion, an old friend of the widow's, is among the guests at Lafcadio's fourth such posthumous vernissage. The event is a success for all but one of attendees -- a young artist who is brutally murdered while others are sipping champagne. Shortly thereafter the wife of another painter in the Lafcadios' circle is poisoned, and Campion begins asking questions -- a dangerous habit with a murderer around.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Margery Allingham is one of the best-known names in mystery fiction. The "Campion" novels have been extensively televised, and broadcast in the U.S. and the UK; a new series is currently under option. Who's Likely to Like This? Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, Edmund Crispin and other writers of Britain's "Golden Age"

Review:

"Wonderfully plotted...Allingham was a rare and precious talent" --Washington Post

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

MARGERY ALLINGHAM
Published by PENGUIN BOOKS LTD (1986)
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PENGUIN BOOKS LTD, 1986. Book Condition: Very Good. New Ed. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP94571916

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

MARGERY ALLINGHAM
Published by PENGUIN BOOKS LTD
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PENGUIN BOOKS LTD. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G0140084231I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (1986)
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 1986. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0007414225

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Allingham, Margery
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
FORTIUS LTD
(Aylesbury, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # TT00457859B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Allingham, Margery
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001317311

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Margery Allingham
Published by Penguin Books Ltd 30/10/1986 (1986)
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd 30/10/1986, 1986. Book Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780140084238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Margery Allingham
Published by Penguin Books Ltd 30/10/1986 (1986)
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd 30/10/1986, 1986. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780140084238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Margery Allingham
Published by Penguin Books Ltd 30/10/1986 (1986)
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd 30/10/1986, 1986. Book Condition: Good. This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780140084238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Allingham, Margery
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Electric Chicken
(Goring-By-Sea, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # FPS0140084231G

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Allingham, Margery
Published by Penguin Books Ltd (1986)
ISBN 10: 0140084231 ISBN 13: 9780140084238
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Brown's Books
(burnaby, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, 1986. Soft cover. Book Condition: Good. small trade paperback, good reading copy. Bookseller Inventory # 182177

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
7.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book