Heaven's Command: An Imperial Progress (Pax Britannica trilogy)

4.32 avg rating
( 430 ratings by Goodreads )
9780140049268: Heaven's Command: An Imperial Progress (Pax Britannica trilogy)

The Pax Britannica trilogy is Jan Morris's epic story of the British Empire from the accession of Queen Victoria to the death of Winston Churchill. It is a towering achievement: informative, accessible, entertaining and written with all her usual bravura. Heaven's Command, the first volume, takes us from the crowning of Queen Victoria in 1837 to the Diamond Jubilee in 1897. The story moves effortlessly across the world, from the English shores to Fiji, Zululand, the Canadian prairies and beyond. Totally gripping history!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

great work the 3 vols providing a total read of 1674 pages.


Roy McMillan narrates this sprawling history of the British Empire during the reign of Queen Victoria (1837 1897). Morris fills this study with small details and sweeping discussions of all the lands of the empire on which the sun never set. With warm, fluid tones, McMillan's voice takes the listener to small and large cities around the world. The material is organized around a series of vignettes that bring the period to life, and colorful descriptions capture one s attention. McMillan uses subtle modulations of voice when delivering direct quotations and interrupts his narration to include all the footnotes, which are digressions and authorial comments rather than explanations. Heaven's Command is the first of the three audiobook volumes in Morris's Pax Britannica. --AudioFile

Jan Morris's Heaven's Command: An Imperial Progress is the first of her imperial trilogy, Pax Britannica. It isn't the newest history of the British Empire but it is easily the most readable, with a knack of including details that make us reflect on the present. Roy McMillan thoroughly enjoys narrating a story full of happy warriors and generous spirits that people the far-flung places once so flamboyantly pink with memorable characters, but shrewdly avoids rose-tinted spectacles. --Christina Hardyment, The Times

Published nearly 40 years ago, Jan Morris's Pax Britannica trilogy has never been equalled. This first volume of her biography of the British empire runs from Victoria's accession in 1837 to her Diamond Jubilee in 1897 taking in, besides much else, the Great Game, the Irish famine, the Indian Mutiny, the Jamaica Rebellion and the Scramble for Africa. Elegantly written, it is both delightful and consistently erudite, while Roy McMillan's reading glows with the same infectious passion for the subject as Jan Morris's own. --Rachel Redford, The Observer

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Morris, James
Published by Penguin Books (1979)
ISBN 10: 0140049266 ISBN 13: 9780140049268
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin Books, 1979. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110140049266

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.31
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds