Classics Graham Greene Twenty-one Stories

ISBN 13: 9780140030938

Twenty-one Stories

3.82 avg rating
( 706 ratings by Goodreads )
9780140030938: Twenty-one Stories

Twenty-One Stories (1954) is a collection of short stories by Graham Greene. 1. "The End of the Party" (1929) 2. "The Second Death" (1929) 3. "Proof Positive" (1930) (online text) 4. "I Spy" (1930) 5. "A Day Saved" (1935) 6. "Jubilee" (1936) 7."Brother" (1936) 8. "A Chance For Mr Lever" (1936) 9. "The Basement Room" (1936) (adapted by the author as The Fallen Idol, a film directed by Carol Reed) 10. "The Innocent" (1937) 11. "A Drive in the Country" (1937) 12. "Across The Bridge" (1938) (made into a 1957 film starring Rod Steiger) 13. "A Little Place Off The Edgware Road" (1939) 14. "The Case for the Defence" (1939) 15. "Alas, Poor Maling" (1940) 16. "Men At Work" (1940) 17. "Greek Meets Greek" (1941) 18. "The Hint of an Explanation" (1948) 19. "The Blue Film" (1954) 20. "Special Duties" (1954) 21. "The Destructors" (1954)

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

The stories in this book, all written between 1929 and 1954, all share the themes that feature so strongly in Graham Greene's novels: humour and violence, pity and hatred, betrayal and pursuit. Comic, sad, shocking and tragic, they recount the tales of Mr Maling's loud stomach, destructive gangs of children, indiscretions revealed and secrets uncovered, each one unmistakeably the work of the twentieth century's master storyteller.


"A superb storyteller..he had a talent for depicting local colour, which he gathered at first hand; a keen sense of the dramatic; an eye for dialogue, and skill in pacing his prose - New York Times" "One of the most important British writers of the twentieth century" Daily Telegraph "Greene was a force beyond his books... The outsider, the dissenter, the spoiled priest, the failure, the classic underdog - out of characters such as these Greene made novels and stories which have enriched hundreds of thousands of readers" -- Melvyn Bragg

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Graham Greene
Published by Penguin Books (1981)
ISBN 10: 014003093X ISBN 13: 9780140030938
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Penguin Books, 1981. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 014003093X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds