Old Bear Tales (Red Fox Picture Books)

4.03 avg rating
( 38 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099880004: Old Bear Tales (Red Fox Picture Books)

Adventures of the playroom toys as they have parties, enjoy the seasons, and go on holiday.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Publishers Weekly:

Readers who enjoyed Old Bear and Little Bear's Trousers are granted longer visits with Old Bear, Bramwell Brown, Lucy the rabbit and Duck, and will meet many new friends as well. One bear wishes to be wrapped up for Christmas, so he might once again surprise the children who own him; another wishes to change his name but finds that the risk of acquiring a new monicker is that no one knows him. Decorating the doll's house for Christmas brings out the best in all of the stuffed animals, and an early-early spring picnic (with hot water bottle) turns from a restful repast into an exciting ride home. Each brief, endearing chapter stands on its own, and these chronicles may be sampled in any order. But unlike the author's picture books, in this story book there are disappointingly few illustrations (mostly portraits in Hissey's characteristic careful textures rather than action shots); from the marvelous descriptions of the new adventures, readers familiar with the other books may anticipate illustrations that simply are not included. In fact, some of the pictures (or fragments of pictures) are reproduced more than once, which makes the book look pasted up and hastily packaged. All ages.
Copyright 1988 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From School Library Journal:

PreSchool-Grade 1-- As in Old Bear (1986) and Little Bear's Trousers (1987, both Philomel), Hissey presents her stuffed toy friends--this time in a collection of ten short stories. Most tales are five to six pages of text and are richly illustrated. A table of contents makes it easy to find particular selections. Young children will delight in the antics of Old Bear and his friends as they decorate the dollhouse for Christmas, make a circus under a tablecloth tent, and roll downhill in a runaway picnic basket. Hissey's illustrations show a mastery of texture and detail. Her large, vivid drawings of cuddly toys will appeal to the heart as well as to the eye, appearing to reach out to readers for hugs. Good for either group story time or one-to-one sharing, this is sure to become a favorite of children and grownups alike. --Jane Tighe, Baltimore County Public Library
Copyright 1989 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hissey, Jane
Published by Red Fox
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Motor City
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Minimal damage to cover and binding. Pages show light use. Bookseller Inventory # G0099880008I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jane Hissey
Published by Red Fox
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox. Book Condition: Good. . Bookseller Inventory # P15A-00449

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hissey, Jane
Published by Red Fox (1991)
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox, 1991. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in good condition but will show signs of previous ownership. Please expect some creasing to the spine and/or minor damage to the cover. Bookseller Inventory # CHL1062422

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hissey, Jane
Published by Red Fox (1991)
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox, 1991. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in good condition but will show signs of previous ownership. Please expect some creasing to the spine and/or minor damage to the cover. Inscription. Please note this book has an inscription on the inside page. The book is still very readable, and the price has been adjusted accordingly. Thanks. Bookseller Inventory # CHL2354382

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hissey, Jane
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR002089461

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hissey, Jane
Published by Red Fox
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sam Nayler
(Thetford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Very Good. 0099880008 Books shipped daily. Professional seller. Bookseller Inventory # Z0099880008Z2

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jane Hissey
Published by Red Fox (1991)
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox, 1991. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002692218

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jane Hissey
Published by Red Fox (1991)
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox, 1991. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000332716

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jane Hissey
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
MegaBooksUK
(Wolsingham, A, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # SKU-3942033

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jane Hissey
Published by Red Fox 19/09/1991 (1991)
ISBN 10: 0099880008 ISBN 13: 9780099880004
Used Quantity Available: 11
Seller:
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Red Fox 19/09/1991, 1991. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780099880004

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book