LIT-Literature Burnside, John The Mercy Boys

ISBN 13: 9780099773115

The Mercy Boys

3.38 avg rating
( 29 ratings by Goodreads )
9780099773115: The Mercy Boys

The Mercy Boys are four Dundee men who meet every day in their local pub and drink: first to find order, then oblivion. Each has his own ghosts, his dreams of escape. But when death comes to the Mercy Boys it comes suddenly and with staggering violence, and their dreams of leaving bleed into nightmares.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


"["The Mercy Boys"] takes place in Dundee, following the lives of four middle-aged men who drink far too much in a pub called the Mercy...profoundly disturbing." - "The Times""A powerful unsentimental account of men on the bleaker side of black." - "Observer"

About the Author:

John Burnside was born in 1955 and now lives in Fife. His novels include The Dumb House and, most recently, Burning Elvis. He has published six collections of poetry and has won a number of awards, including the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize. He was selected as one of the twenty Best of Young British Poets in 1994.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Published by VINTAGE (2000)
ISBN 10: 0099773112 ISBN 13: 9780099773115
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description VINTAGE, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 99773112

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds