Eddie Little Another Day in Paradise

ISBN 13: 9780099768319

Another Day in Paradise

3.97 avg rating
( 245 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099768319: Another Day in Paradise

In the tradition of Jim Carroll's Basketball Diaries, Eddie Little's debut novel traces the outlaw life of a young Irish American. A teenage speed freak and petty thief, Bobbie and his Puerto Rican girlfriend, Rosie, are taken under the wing of an all-round criminal opportunist named Mel, who is old enough to be Bobbie's father, and Mel's girlfriend, Syd. Bobbie's chance to get back on his feet begins as the inside man in a pharmaceutical company break-in. The ensuing crime spree takes the foursome across the Midwest and California of the early '70s--and deeper into the dark world of heroin addiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Kirkus Reviews:

A gutsy, fresh, and fierce drug novel, something like walking over broken glass barefoot, by first-novelist and former addict Little. Most of the story, set during the late '60s and early '70s in the Midwest and California, has an autobiographical tang. Bobbie, the 14-year-old Irish hero, has been on the street since he was 11, and hasn't much hope of living to 20. As Bobbie matures into a copper-bottomed Huck Finn on heroin, pursuing a life of crime and bloodshed, one fears that the novel's big rainbow buzz will fade and Bobbie head for rehab. But since 12- step programs haven't yet been invented, all stays hopped up and oblivion-bound till the end. Before the drug takes charge of him, Bobbie is braced--even empowered--by the heroin. But after a year of this, no amount of the stuff can return him to well-being. The good days, he realizes, are gone forever, and the need to support his habit with various crimes, petty and big-time, only intensifies. And so little Bobbie takes up with a professional burglar named Mel, twice his age, who recruits him as a worthy sidekick for drug errands usually run around midnight. Bobbie, near the same time, falls in love with Rosie, a star-crossed 17- year-old, also a druggie. Little's strongest suit is to suggest Bobbie's masked fear of exposing his love and friendship for Rosie and Mel: A pro, after all, is supposed to show no feeling. Little keeps Bobbie's emotions capped but pulsating at every step of the way. Little, who runs an AIDS assistance organization in Los Angeles, writes like a bad dream on wheels, unique in the electric authenticity that he brings to every sentence. The stages of addiction have seldom been so vividly drawn. (Film rights to Miramax; author tour) -- Copyright ©1997, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

From Library Journal:

At age 13, Bobbie leaves the violent, abusive home where he was raised, and this book details his following year. He has an older girlfriend, carries a gun, takes drugs, and is on an ever-tightening spiral to hell, his crimes escalating until they include murder. The plot, which highlights Bobbie's increasing dependence on the highs of violence, is not pointless but instead emphasizes a frightening reality. For Bobbie, read Little. He's been there, and his graphic story is written with an immediacy and realism that will make normal thinking people cringe and parents anxious to protect their children from the harshness in which some youth live. Movie rights have been sold, so expect some interest.?Andrea Lee Shuey, Dallas P.L.
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eddie Little
Published by Vintage 01/10/1998 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 01/10/1998, 1998. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780099768319

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Little, Eddie
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Electric Chicken
(Goring-By-Sea, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # FPS0099768313VG

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Little, Eddie
Published by Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # 1550497

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Little, Eddie
Published by Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Very Good. cover creased and frayed, . yellow pages due to age, stains on sides, **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # 2724663

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Eddie Little
Published by -
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description -. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Another Day in Paradise This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780099768319

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Little, Eddie
Published by Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Bookseller Inventory # 1136659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Little, Eddie
Published by Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # 2271944

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Little, Eddie
Published by Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1998. Book Condition: Good. New Ed. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP87330054

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.15
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Little, Eddie
Published by Vintage (1998)
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 1998. Book Condition: Very Good. New Ed. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP81357717

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.15
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Little, Eddie
ISBN 10: 0099768313 ISBN 13: 9780099768319
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001825386

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book