The Second Duchess

3.91 avg rating
( 2,652 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099576396: The Second Duchess

A dazzling tale of love, sumptuous splendour and conspiracy in the Italian Renaissance court of Ferrara, from the brilliant author of The Flower Reader.

Barbara of Austria is plain, quick-witted and sensible. She also desperately needs a husband, for unmarried at twenty-six, she is about to be packed off to a convent, like her sisters before her.

So it is that she seizes what seems to be her last chance - a proposal of marriage from Alfonso d'Este, Duke of Ferrara, Lucrezia Borgia's grandson, clever, handsome, powerful - and widely believed to have murdered his first wife, Lucrezia de Medici.

Barbara goes into her marriage clear-eyed, fascinated by her dangerous, enigmatic new husband - and increasingly - recklessly - driven to discover the truth about the death of his first duchess.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Think The Other Boleyn Girl meets Rebecca" ( C.S. Harris, author of the Sebastian St Cyr mystery series)

" The Second Duchess is one of those rare books that have everything; an engaging plot, well drawn characters, luxurious locations and a thrilling final denouement. This book will delight fans of historical fiction and offers something a little different from other books of the genre." ( Bookbag)

"The historical mystery at the heart of this excellent novel kept me turning pages late into the night, even as I admonished myself to slow down and savour the feast for the senses laid out on each page. The story was compelling and the voice utterly intriguing" ( Brenda Rickman Vantrease, author of The Heretic's Wife)

Book Description:

A dazzling tale of love, sumptuous splendour and conspiracy in the Italian Renaissance court of Ferrara, from the author of The Flower Reader. Perfect for fans of The White Queen and Sarah Dunant.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Elizabeth Loupas
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a dazzling tale of love, sumptuous splendour and conspiracy in the Italian Renaissance court of Ferrara, from the brilliant author of The Flower Reader. Barbara of Austria is plain, quick-witted and sensible. She also desperately needs a husband, for unmarried at twenty-six, she is about to be packed off to a convent, like her sisters before her. So it is that she seizes what seems to be her last chance - a proposal of marriage from Alfonso d Este, Duke of Ferrara, Lucrezia Borgia s grandson, clever, handsome, powerful - and widely believed to have murdered his first wife, Lucrezia de Medici. Barbara goes into her marriage clear-eyed, fascinated by her dangerous, enigmatic new husband - and increasingly - recklessly - driven to discover the truth about the death of his first duchess. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099576396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Loupas, Elizabeth
Published by Arrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000068481

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Elizabeth Loupas
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a dazzling tale of love, sumptuous splendour and conspiracy in the Italian Renaissance court of Ferrara, from the brilliant author of The Flower Reader. Barbara of Austria is plain, quick-witted and sensible. She also desperately needs a husband, for unmarried at twenty-six, she is about to be packed off to a convent, like her sisters before her. So it is that she seizes what seems to be her last chance - a proposal of marriage from Alfonso d Este, Duke of Ferrara, Lucrezia Borgia s grandson, clever, handsome, powerful - and widely believed to have murdered his first wife, Lucrezia de Medici. Barbara goes into her marriage clear-eyed, fascinated by her dangerous, enigmatic new husband - and increasingly - recklessly - driven to discover the truth about the death of his first duchess. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099576396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Loupas, Elizabeth
Published by Arrow
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow. Book Condition: New. Barbara of Austria is plain, quick-witted and sensible. She also desperately needs a husband, for unmarried at twenty-six, she is about to be packed off to a convent, like her sisters before her. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 128 x 197 x 27. Weight in Grams: 302. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099576396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Loupas, Elizabeth
Published by Arrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2014. Book Condition: New. Barbara of Austria is plain, quick-witted and sensible. She also desperately needs a husband, for unmarried at twenty-six, she is about to be packed off to a convent, like her sisters before her. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 128 x 197 x 27. Weight in Grams: 302. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099576396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Elizabeth Loupas
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Second Duchess, Elizabeth Loupas, This is a dazzling tale of love, sumptuous splendour and conspiracy in the Italian Renaissance court of Ferrara, from the brilliant author of The Flower Reader. Barbara of Austria is plain, quick-witted and sensible. She also desperately needs a husband, for unmarried at twenty-six, she is about to be packed off to a convent, like her sisters before her. So it is that she seizes what seems to be her last chance - a proposal of marriage from Alfonso d'Este, Duke of Ferrara, Lucrezia Borgia's grandson, clever, handsome, powerful - and widely believed to have murdered his first wife, Lucrezia de Medici. Barbara goes into her marriage clear-eyed, fascinated by her dangerous, enigmatic new husband - and increasingly - recklessly - driven to discover the truth about the death of his first duchess. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099576396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Elizabeth Loupas
Published by Arrow (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780099576396

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.92
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Elizabeth Loupas
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; This is a dazzling tale of love, sumptuous splendour and conspiracy in the Italian Renaissance court of Ferrara, from the brilliant author of The Flower Reader. Barbara of Austria is plain, quick-witted and sensible. She also desperately needs a husband, for unmarried at twenty-six, she is about to. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099576396_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Elizabeth Loupas
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099576392. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099576392

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Elizabeth Loupas
ISBN 10: 0099576392 ISBN 13: 9780099576396
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995763960000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book