The Wolf Gift: 1

3.52 avg rating
( 21,920 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099574835: The Wolf Gift: 1

Anne Rice's legendary "Vampire Chronicles" immersed us in the mythology, lives and loves of a motley crew of undead; they defined a genre. And now she has another age-old story in her sights: the terrifying werewolf...The werewolf is the classic monster of horror fiction - dark, gothic, with supernatural depth and power - but here it is reimagined and reinvented with all Anne Rice's supernatural sympathy and inventiveness, as a romantic being, a potentially tragic figure bestowed with the gift of transformation and transcendence. Only Anne Rice could make us wonder if it's possible to love a man-beast but, in "The Wolf Gift's" hero Reuben, we have a brand new hero for a brand new audience. The vampire is dead...2012 is the year of the werewolf.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

What makes this novel special is the changes the author rings on the werewolf theme... This allows Rice to spin both a convincing thriller and an inquisition on the nature of good and evil - a recurring theme in her work - as Reuben avoids his pursuers and considers the creature he has become. Superb. Guardian The Wolf Gift is vintage Anne Rice - a lushly written, gothic... metaphysical tale. This time, with werewolves. The Wall Street Journal I want to howl at the moon over this...I devoured these pages...[A] terrific new novel... The plot [is] magnetic, the characters fascinating, and Rice's style as solid and engaging as anything she has written since her early vampire chronicle fiction. The Boston Globe Rice weaves her trademark meditations on the role of supernatural creatures in society into an often thrilling, page-turning yarn. Booklist [Rice] returns to the lushly evocative scenery and gothic atmosphere of her vampire novels with great success... her reimagining of a well-worn mythology is fresh and intriguing. Fans of Rice's 'The Vampire Chronicles' and 'The Lives of the Mayfair Witches' series should delight in this new saga delivered in the author's distinctive style. Part creation story, part love story, all excellent! Library Journal

Book Description:

The queen of horror is back ...

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rice, Anne
Published by Random House Export (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099574837 ISBN 13: 9780099574835
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Export, 2012. Book Condition: New. N/A. Ships from the UK. BRAND NEW. Bookseller Inventory # GRP78325872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.98
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rice, Anne
Published by Random House Export
ISBN 10: 0099574837 ISBN 13: 9780099574835
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
California Spanish Books
(buenos aires, Argentina)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Export. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0099574837 Nuevo! Fast delivery! Professional service with friendly customer support 7 days a week. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099574835

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Argentina to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rice, Anne
Published by Random House Export
ISBN 10: 0099574837 ISBN 13: 9780099574835
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Export. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0099574837

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds