ROY-BHATTACHARY The Watch

ISBN 13: 9780099565772

The Watch

3.58 avg rating
( 988 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099565772: The Watch

In this powerful novel set in contemporary Kandahar, an Afghan woman approaches an American military base to demand the return of her brother's body.
 
At a stark outpost in the Kandahar mountain range, a team of American soldiers watches a young Afghan woman approach. She has come to beg for the return of her brother's body. The camp's tense, claustrophobic atmosphere comes to a boil as the men argue about what to do next. Taking its cue from the Antigone myth, this significant, eloquent novel re-creates the chaos, intensity, and immediacy of war, and conveys the inevitable repercussions felt by the soldiers and their families--especially one sister.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best Books of the Month, June 2012: A legless woman approaches a military outpost in Afghanistan's Kandahar Province, ostensibly to retrieve the body of her brother, who has been killed in a firefight. Having survived that firefight, the soldiers inside the compound are wary and edgy. That's the setup to a taut and gritty story that unfolds amid the dust, shadows, and unease of one slice of the war in Afghanistan. Playing with the myth of Antigone, Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya has crafted an eloquent and intimate look at the types of events still occurring on a daily basis. At the Tarsandan combat outpost, as the woman refuses to leave and questions mount about her true intentions, everything comes into question--what's right and wrong? why are we here? Barbaric, heartfelt, heartbreaking, and lyrical, this is a primal and beautiful work. And a page-turner to the very last page. --Neal Thompson

About the Author:

JOYDEEP ROY-BHATTACHARYA was born in Jamshedpur, India, and educated in politics and philosophy at Calcutta University and the University of Pennsylvania. His novels, The Gabriel Club and The Storyteller of Marrakesh, have been published in 11 languages in 16 countries.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. The first great novel of the war in Afghanistan . (Wall Street Journal). You ve had no sleep since the firefight last night. The morning fog beyond the walls of your base lifts to reveal a lone woman approaching the gate. She says she has come to claim the body of her brother killed in last night s attack. Is she a terrorist? A spy? A lunatic? Or what she says she is - a grieving sister? What should you do? What do you do? It is shortlisted for the Criticos Prize and the Boeke Prize and longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the DSC Asian Literature Prize. One of Publishers Weekly s Ten best contemporary war novels. Bookseller Inventory # APE9780099565772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The first great novel of the war in Afghanistan . (Wall Street Journal). You ve had no sleep since the firefight last night. The morning fog beyond the walls of your base lifts to reveal a lone woman approaching the gate. She says she has come to claim the body of her brother killed in last night s attack. Is she a terrorist? A spy? A lunatic? Or what she says she is - a grieving sister? What should you do? What do you do? It is shortlisted for the Criticos Prize and the Boeke Prize and longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the DSC Asian Literature Prize. One of Publishers Weekly s Ten best contemporary war novels. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099565772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The first great novel of the war in Afghanistan . (Wall Street Journal). You ve had no sleep since the firefight last night. The morning fog beyond the walls of your base lifts to reveal a lone woman approaching the gate. She says she has come to claim the body of her brother killed in last night s attack. Is she a terrorist? A spy? A lunatic? Or what she says she is - a grieving sister? What should you do? What do you do? It is shortlisted for the Criticos Prize and the Boeke Prize and longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the DSC Asian Literature Prize. One of Publishers Weekly s Ten best contemporary war novels. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099565772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

ROY-BHATTACHARY
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995657720000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Roy-Bhattacharya, Joydeep
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. 2013. Paperback. The morning fog beyond the walls of your base lifts to reveal a lone woman approaching the gate. She says she has come to claim the body of her brother killed in last night's attack. Is she a terrorist? A spy? A lunatic? Or what she says she is - a grieving sister? What should you do? What do you do? Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 193 x 123 x 22. Weight in Grams: 256. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099565772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Roy-Bhattacharya, Joydeep
Published by Vintage (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2013. Book Condition: New. 2013. Paperback. The morning fog beyond the walls of your base lifts to reveal a lone woman approaching the gate. She says she has come to claim the body of her brother killed in last night's attack. Is she a terrorist? A spy? A lunatic? Or what she says she is - a grieving sister? What should you do? What do you do? Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 193 x 123 x 22. Weight in Grams: 256. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099565772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Watch, Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya, "The first great novel of the war in Afghanistan". (Wall Street Journal). You've had no sleep since the firefight last night. The morning fog beyond the walls of your base lifts to reveal a lone woman approaching the gate. She says she has come to claim the body of her brother killed in last night's attack. Is she a terrorist? A spy? A lunatic? Or what she says she is - a grieving sister? What should you do? What do you do? It is shortlisted for the Criticos Prize and the Boeke Prize and longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the DSC Asian Literature Prize. One of Publishers Weekly's Ten best contemporary war novels. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099565772

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

ROY-BHATTACHARY
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099565773. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099565773

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Roy-Bhattacharya, Joydeep
Published by Random House Uk Ltd
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AG Library
(Malaga, Spain)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Uk Ltd. Book Condition: New. Paperback edition of Roy-Bhattacharya's novel about the brutal realities of life in a war zone. With appeal to fans of "Generation Kill" and "Jarhead". 'Written with restrained power' Kate Saunders, "The Times" *** Nota: EL COSTE DE ENVÍO A CANARIAS ES 8 euros. Si ha realizado un pedido con destino a CANARIAS no podemos hacer el envío con un coste de 3,5 euros . Nos pondremos en contacto con usted para comunicar el coste total del envío a Canarias y si está de acuerdo, Abebooks le efectuará el cargo adicional. Bookseller Inventory # 8195271

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.99
From Spain to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

ROY-BHATTACHARY
Published by Vintage (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099565773 ISBN 13: 9780099565772
New paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2013. paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780099565772 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE01344875

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds