Jones, Sadie The Uninvited Guests

ISBN 13: 9780099563693

The Uninvited Guests

2.96 avg rating
( 6,950 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099563693: The Uninvited Guests

A sinister tale of haunting beauty, from The Outcast author Sadie Jones.

It is the eve of Emerald Torrington's twentieth birthday and the family has assembled at Sterne, the once grand, now crumbling, family seat. The cake is iced, the wine decanted, the house gleams invitingly.

But before the first dish can be served, a mysterious group of strangers arrives at the door. Victims of a local train accident they are seeking shelter at the house.

The Torringtons welcome them in but there is something unsettling about the group and, as night falls and a storm rages outside, the family begins to wonder if something more malevolent than stranded travellers is in their home...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Dazzlingly well-written. The style is exuberant and extremely funny. This is a midsummer's night dream of a book, mythic and unforgettable" ( Financial Times)

"What a delicious literary cocktail Sadie Jones's latest novel is: part suspense, part Edwardian romcom, richly evocative of time and place... It's a spiffing tale and, even though it is at bottom a metaphysical love story, it is far more believable than Downton Abbey" (Sebastian Shakespeare Tatler)

"Highly entertaining… An elegant comedy of manners with the usual undercurrents of jealousy, desire and conflicting loyalties… Jones shows that she can turn her talent for storytelling to a more stylised form with a light and playful touch, and without compromising her sharp insights into the human heart" (Stephanie Merritt Observer)

"Fans of The Outcast and Small Wars won't be disappointed. Wonderfully spooky and atmospheric" (Viv Groskop Red)

"With its Mitfordesque dialogue and pacy plot, this is a deliciously fun read" (Beatrice Hodgkin Easy Living)

Book Description:

The prizewinning and No 1 bestselling author Sadie Jones moves to a gorgeous and bewitching historical setting in a blissful new novel full of spooky surprises - 'promises to fill a large, Downton Abbey-shaped hole in one's cultural life' - Charlotte Sinclair, Vogue

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sadie Jones
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a sinister tale of haunting beauty, from The Outcast author Sadie Jones. It is the eve of Emerald Torrington s twentieth birthday and the family has assembled at Sterne, the once grand, now crumbling, family seat. The cake is iced, the wine decanted, the house gleams invitingly. But before the first dish can be served, a mysterious group of strangers arrives at the door. Victims of a local train accident they are seeking shelter at the house. The Torringtons welcome them in but there is something unsettling about the group and, as night falls and a storm rages outside, the family begins to wonder if something more malevolent than stranded travellers is in their home. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099563693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jones, Sadie
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 18777876-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.12
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sadie Jones
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a sinister tale of haunting beauty, from The Outcast author Sadie Jones. It is the eve of Emerald Torrington s twentieth birthday and the family has assembled at Sterne, the once grand, now crumbling, family seat. The cake is iced, the wine decanted, the house gleams invitingly. But before the first dish can be served, a mysterious group of strangers arrives at the door. Victims of a local train accident they are seeking shelter at the house. The Torringtons welcome them in but there is something unsettling about the group and, as night falls and a storm rages outside, the family begins to wonder if something more malevolent than stranded travellers is in their home. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099563693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sadie Jones
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 22mm. Paperback. This is a sinister tale of haunting beauty, from The Outcast author Sadie Jones. It is the eve of Emerald Torrington's twentieth birthday and the family has assembled at Sterne, the once g.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.264. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099563693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jones, Sadie
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995636930000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Jones, Sadie
Published by Vintage (2013)
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000093393

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sadie Jones
Published by Vintage 2013-02-14 (2013)
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2013-02-14, 2013. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-01137776

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sadie Jones
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; This is a sinister tale of haunting beauty, from The Outcast author Sadie Jones. It is the eve of Emerald Torrington's twentieth birthday and the family has assembled at Sterne, the once grand, now crumbling, family seat. The cake is iced, the wine decanted, the house gleams invitingly. But before. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099563693_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sadie Jones
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Uninvited Guests, Sadie Jones, This is a sinister tale of haunting beauty, from "The Outcast" author Sadie Jones. It is the eve of Emerald Torrington's twentieth birthday and the family has assembled at Sterne, the once grand, now crumbling, family seat. The cake is iced, the wine decanted, the house gleams invitingly. But before the first dish can be served, a mysterious group of strangers arrives at the door. Victims of a local train accident they are seeking shelter at the house. The Torringtons welcome them in but there is something unsettling about the group and, as night falls and a storm rages outside, the family begins to wonder if something more malevolent than stranded travellers is in their home. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099563693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jones, Sadie
ISBN 10: 009956369X ISBN 13: 9780099563693
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST009956369X. Bookseller Inventory # ST009956369X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book