Lisa Jewell The Third Wife

ISBN 13: 9780099559573

The Third Wife

3.61 avg rating
( 4,129 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099559573: The Third Wife

For fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes comes a riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core, from the internationally bestselling author of "The House We Grew Up In."
In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide?
At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge...
With psychological nuance that gets into the heart of its characters, "The Third Wife "is a gripping story about a man seeking the truth behind his seemingly perfect marriage and the broken pieces left behind.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Lisa Jewell was born and raised in north London, where she lives with her husband and two daughters. She is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA TODAY bestselling author of numerous novels, including The House We Grew Up In, The Third Wife, and I Found You. Her latest novel, Then She Was Gone, will be published in April 2018. To find out more, visit Facebook.com/LisaJewellOfficial, or follow her on Twitter @LisaJewellUK.

Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.:

The Third Wife

1



April 2011

They might have been fireworks, the splashes, bursts, storms of color that exploded in front of her eyes. They might have been the northern lights, her own personal aurora borealis. But they weren’t, they were just neon lights and streetlights rendered blurred and prismatic by vodka. Maya blinked, trying to dislodge the colors from her field of vision. But they were stuck, as though someone had been scribbling on her eyeballs. She closed her eyes for a moment, but without vision, her balance went and she could feel herself begin to sway. She grabbed something. She did not realize until the sharp bark and shrug that accompanied her action that it was a human being.

“Shit,” Maya said, “I’m really sorry.”

The person tutted and backed away from her. “Don’t worry about it.”

Maya took exaggerated offense to the person’s lack of kindness.

“Jesus,” she said to the outline of the person, whose gender she had failed to ascertain. “What’s your problem?”

“Er,” said the person, looking Maya up and down, “I think you’ll find you’re the one with the problem.” Then the person, a woman, yes, in red shoes, tutted again and walked away, her heels issuing a mocking clack-clack against the pavement as she went.

Maya watched her blurred figure recede. She found a lamppost and leaned against it, looking into the oncoming traffic. The headlights turned into more fireworks. Or one of those toys she’d had as a child: tube, full of colored beads, you shook it, looked through the hole, lovely patterns—what was it called? She couldn’t remember. Whatever. She didn’t know anymore. She didn’t know what time it was. She didn’t know where she was. Adrian had called. She’d spoken to him. Tried to sound sober. He’d asked her if she needed him to come and get her. She couldn’t remember what she’d said. Or how long ago that had been. Lovely Adrian. So lovely. She couldn’t go home. Go home and do what she needed to do. He was too nice. She remembered the pub. She’d talked to that woman. Promised her she was going home. That was hours ago. Where had she been since then? Walking. Sitting somewhere, on a bench, with a bottle of vodka, talking to strangers. Hahaha! That bit had been fun. Those people had been fun. They’d said she could come back with them, to their flat, have a party. She’d been tempted, but she was glad now, glad she’d said no.

She closed her eyes, gripped the lamppost tighter as she felt her balance slip away from her. She smiled to herself. This was nice. This was nice. All this color and darkness and noise and all these fascinating people. She should do this more often, she really should. Get out of it. Live a little. Go a bit nuts. A group of women were walking towards her. She stared at them greedily. She could see each woman in triplicate. They were all so young, so pretty. She closed her eyes again as they passed by, her senses unable to contain their images any longer. Once they’d passed she opened her eyes.

She saw a bus bearing down, bouncy and keen. She squinted into the white light on the front, looking for a number. It slowed as it neared her and she turned and saw that there was a bus stop to her left, with people standing at it.

Dear Bitch. Why can’t you just disappear?

The words passed through her mind, clear and concise in their meaning, like a sober person leading her home. And then those other words, the words from earlier.

I hate her too.

She took a step forward.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lisa Jewell
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995595730000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lisa Jewell
Published by Arrow 2015-04-23 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow 2015-04-23, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05170663

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jewell, Lisa
Published by Arrow (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001506230

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jewell, Lisa
Published by Arrow Books Ltd
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow Books Ltd. Book Condition: New. London, 3am, a tragic accident, and Adrian's life starts to fall apart. Because everyone has secrets and secrets have consequences. Some of which can be devastating. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 201 x 129 x 30. Weight in Grams: 304. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099559573

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jewell, Lisa
Published by Arrow Books Ltd (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow Books Ltd, 2015. Book Condition: New. London, 3am, a tragic accident, and Adrian's life starts to fall apart. Because everyone has secrets and secrets have consequences. Some of which can be devastating. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 201 x 129 x 30. Weight in Grams: 304. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099559573

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lisa Jewell
Published by Arrow (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780099559573

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.56
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lisa Jewell
Published by Random House 2015-04-23, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2015-04-23, London, 2015. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099559573

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lisa Jewell
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Third Wife, Lisa Jewell, The unforgettable new novel from Top Ten bestseller Lisa Jewell, author of Ralph's Party, The Making of Us and The House We Grew Up In. You think you have the perfect life. You're successful. Attractive. Well liked. And you've just got married for the third time. But that's OK because everyone's happy. Your children are happy. You're happy. And so is your new wife.London, 3am: a tragic accident, and Adrian's life starts to fall apart. Because everyone has secrets and secrets have consequences. Some of which can be devastating. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099559573

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lisa Jewell
Published by Arrow (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2015. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099559573_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lisa Jewell
ISBN 10: 0099559579 ISBN 13: 9780099559573
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099559579. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099559579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book