McManus, Sophie The Unfortunates

ISBN 13: 9780099559078

The Unfortunates

2.89 avg rating
( 743 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099559078: The Unfortunates

For fans of Joshua Ferris, Meg Wolitzer and Claire Messud.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"The Unfortunates is both a mirror on the income inequality of the current moment and a social novel in the old, grand, plotty mode: voracious for detail and punctuated by gasp-inducing turns of fate. Its subjects are money and the people unfortunate enough to have it. Who knew the rich deserved so much to be pitied?" (Salvatore Scibona, author of THE END)

"What is truly rich about this stunning debut novel, beyond the over privileged social class in question, is the brilliant language—lucid, quick, accessible, yet almost cubist in its syntactical swerves and surprising word choices—with which Sophie McManus invests the inner lives of the Somners, mother, son, and daughter-in-law – three unforgettable protagonists." (Jaimy Gordon, author of LORD OF MISRULE)

"In finely etched detail as sharp as shards of glass, McManus reveals the corrupting power of wealth and the myriad ways it infects individual lives, and families.As relevant as it is compulsively readable." (Amanda Coplin, author of THE ORCHARDIST)

"Is there anything Sophie McManus can’t do? The virtuosity in these pages is astonishing, but just as astonishing is this novel’s abiding heart." (Joshua Henkin, author of THE WORLD WITHOUT YOU)

"Sophie McManus has a shrewd eye for telling gestures and an ear for cruel speech and kindness.She is an incisive, surprising prose stylist, and her debut novel, The Unfortunates, heralds an exciting new talent with an old soul." (Christine Schutt, author of PROPSEROUS FRIENDS)

About the Author:

Sophie McManus grew up in New York City and attended Vassar College and Sarah Lawrence College’s MFA program. She is a recipient of fellowships from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, the Saltonstall Foundation and the Jentel Foundation. Her work has appeared in American Short Fiction and Tin House, among other publications. She teaches writing in Brooklyn, New York. The Unfortunates is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sophie McManus
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. CeCe Somner, an eccentric heiress once known for her cruel wit as much as for her tremendous generosity, now faces opulent decline. Afflicted with a rare disease and touched by mortality for the first time, her gilded, bygone values collide with an unforgiving present. As her troubled, spoiled son George and his outsider wife Iris struggle to resolve mounting financial and familiar troubles, Cece must face the Somner dynasty s dark legacy. But when George s secrets culminate in an unexpected crime, no riches can put things right for the unfortunate Somners. What will become of all three, who must learn what life will be like beyond the long, shimmering shadow cast by the family s past?. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099559078

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

McManus, Sophie
Published by Windmill Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
W2Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill Books, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. A new, unread, unused book in perfect condition with no missing or damaged pages. Shipped from UK. Orders will be dispatched within 48 hours of receiving your order. Orders are dispatched Monday â" Friday. FREE Returns service (for UK customers) for books upto 2kg please contact us for details. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000131411

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

McManus, Sophie
Published by Windmill Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill Books, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000483829

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sophie McManus
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. CeCe Somner, an eccentric heiress once known for her cruel wit as much as for her tremendous generosity, now faces opulent decline. Afflicted with a rare disease and touched by mortality for the first time, her gilded, bygone values collide with an unforgiving present. As her troubled, spoiled son George and his outsider wife Iris struggle to resolve mounting financial and familiar troubles, Cece must face the Somner dynasty s dark legacy. But when George s secrets culminate in an unexpected crime, no riches can put things right for the unfortunate Somners. What will become of all three, who must learn what life will be like beyond the long, shimmering shadow cast by the family s past?. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099559078

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

McManus, Sophie
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995590780000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sophie McManus
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2016. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 183mm x 24mm. CeCe Somner, an eccentric heiress once known for her cruel wit as much as for her tremendous generosity, now faces opulent decline. Afflicted with a rare disease and touched by mortality for the firs.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 368 pages. 0.262. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099559078

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sophie McManus
Published by Windmill Books 2016-06-30 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill Books 2016-06-30, 2016. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05403371

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sophie McManus
Published by Windmill Books 2016-06-30|NU-LBR-01775691 (2016)
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill Books 2016-06-30|NU-LBR-01775691, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 9780099559078. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-01775691

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sophie McManus
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; CeCe Somner, an eccentric heiress once known for her cruel wit as much as for her tremendous generosity, now faces opulent decline. Afflicted with a rare disease and touched by mortality for the first time, her gilded, bygone values collide with an unforgiving present. As her troubled, spoiled son G. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099559078_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

McManus, Sophie
Published by Windmill Books
ISBN 10: 0099559072 ISBN 13: 9780099559078
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill Books. Book Condition: New. CeCe Somner, an eccentric heiress once known for her cruel wit as much as for her tremendous generosity, now faces opulent decline. As her troubled, spoiled son George and his outsider wife Iris struggle to resolve mounting financial and familiar troubles, Cece must face the Somner dynasty's dark legacy. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 131 x 197 x 27. Weight in Grams: 258. . 2016. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099559078

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book