Tomorrow There Will be Apricots

3.57 avg rating
( 2,557 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099558569: Tomorrow There Will be Apricots

A heartbreaking debut about family, love, grief and food. Perfect for fans of Joanne Harris' Chocolat and Julia Powell's Julie & Julia.

Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she doesn't expect Lorca, a troubled teenager, to be her first pupil. Lorca is desperate to find a way into her mother's affections and as a last attempt decides to track down the recipe for her ideal meal, an obscure Middle Eastern dish called masgouf.

As Lorca and Victoria form an unexpected bond over almond and pistachio cookies and baklava, they begin to suspect they are connected in more ways than just their love of food.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"A profound and necessary new voice. Soffer's prose is as controlled as it is fresh, as incisive as it is musical. Soffer has arrived early, with an orchestra of talent at her disposal." (Colum McCann)

"

This beautiful, beautiful book calls to mind The Elegance of the Hedgehog, for its artistry and heart, and for its two unlikely soul mates—one old, one young, both harboring private grief, shaping their lives around what is missing, looking for families fate has denied them. I dare anyone to barricade their heart against this enchanting novel.

" (Stephanie Kallos, author of BROKEN FOR YOU AND SING THEM HOME)

"Soffer's breathtaking prose interweaves delectable descriptions of food with a profoundly redemptive story about loss, self-discovery, and acceptance." ( O: The Oprah Magazine)

" Delicate and impressiveSoffer’s style is natural and assured whether she’s writing about adolescent longings, adult sorrow, or the seemingly endless and sometimes thankless desire to please one’s parent." (Meg Wolitzer, author of The Position and The Uncoupling)

" A work of beauty in word ... Ms. Soffer is a master artist painting the hidden hues of the human soul. Tomorrow There Will Be Apricots is an intelligent work in the vein of Azar Nafisi where the humanity of the characters transcends cultural or national differences and illustrates commonalities." ( New York Journal of Books)

Book Description:

A profound and necessary new voice. Soffer's prose is as controlled as it is fresh, as incisive as it is musical. Soffer has arrived early, with an orchestra of talent at her disposal. Colum McCann

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jessica Soffer
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a heartbreaking debut about family, love, grief and food. It is perfect for fans of Joanne Harris Chocolat and Julia Powell s Julie Julia. Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she doesn t expect Lorca, a troubled teenager, to be her first pupil. Lorca is desperate to find a way into her mother s affections and as a last attempt decides to track down the recipe for her ideal meal, an obscure Middle Eastern dish called masgouf. As Lorca and Victoria form an unexpected bond over almond and pistachio cookies and baklava, they begin to suspect they are connected in more ways than just their love of food. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099558569

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Soffer, Jessica
Published by Windmill Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000093646

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jessica Soffer
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is a heartbreaking debut about family, love, grief and food. It is perfect for fans of Joanne Harris Chocolat and Julia Powell s Julie Julia. Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she doesn t expect Lorca, a troubled teenager, to be her first pupil. Lorca is desperate to find a way into her mother s affections and as a last attempt decides to track down the recipe for her ideal meal, an obscure Middle Eastern dish called masgouf. As Lorca and Victoria form an unexpected bond over almond and pistachio cookies and baklava, they begin to suspect they are connected in more ways than just their love of food. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099558569

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jessica Soffer
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995585690000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Soffer, Jessica
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Book Condition: New. Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she doesn't expect Lorca, a troubled teenager, to be her first pupil. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 22. Weight in Grams: 248. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099558569

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Soffer, Jessica
Published by Cornerstone (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, 2014. Book Condition: New. Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she doesn't expect Lorca, a troubled teenager, to be her first pupil. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 22. Weight in Grams: 248. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099558569

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jessica Soffer
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Tomorrow There Will be Apricots, Jessica Soffer, This is a heartbreaking debut about family, love, grief and food. It is perfect for fans of Joanne Harris' Chocolat and Julia Powell's Julie & Julia. Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she doesn't expect Lorca, a troubled teenager, to be her first pupil. Lorca is desperate to find a way into her mother's affections and as a last attempt decides to track down the recipe for her ideal meal, an obscure Middle Eastern dish called masgouf. As Lorca and Victoria form an unexpected bond over almond and pistachio cookies and baklava, they begin to suspect they are connected in more ways than just their love of food. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099558569

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jessica Soffer
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; This is a heartbreaking debut about family, love, grief and food. It is perfect for fans of Joanne Harris' Chocolat and Julia Powell's Julie & Julia. Victoria, eighty and recently bereaved, is lonely and needs to find a way to reconnect with the world. When she starts teaching cooking classes she do. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099558569_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jessica Soffer
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099558564. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099558564

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jessica Soffer
Published by Random House (2014)
ISBN 10: 0099558564 ISBN 13: 9780099558569
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F6-9780099558569

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book