Literature Bethan Roberts Mother Island

ISBN 13: 9780099555261

Mother Island

3.51 avg rating
( 57 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099555261: Mother Island

A taut, powerful novel about a nanny who abducts the young child she looks after

How does it feel to come home from work one evening and find your two-year-old son gone? How does it feel to steal another woman's child? To take a boy from his mother, and try to make him yours, make things right? This compelling, tense psychological drama is the story of two women, Nula and Maggie, joined by old family history and love for the same little boy. Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell, Rose Tremain, Ian McEwan, and Rachel Cusk.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Bethan Roberts is the author of The Pools; The Good Plain Cook, which was serialized on BBC Radio 4's Book at Bedtime and chosen as one of Time Out's books of the year, and My Policeman.

Review:

"There's little more engrossing than a top-notch psychological thriller. Bethan Roberts's latest novel doesn't disappoint—it's satisfyingly creepy and stimulates that delicious paradox: goose-pimples in summer."  —Independent

"It's particularly good on the multiple tiny stories of hurt and resentments that can make up a family history."  —Metro

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Roberts, Bethan
Published by Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Travel-Bookshop
(Hertfordshire, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new books and maps available immediately from a reputable and well rated UK bookseller - not sent from the USA; despatched promptly and reliably worldwide by Royal Mail; Bookseller Inventory # BOO09159780099555261

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Roberts, Bethan
Published by Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
W2Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. A new, unread, unused book in perfect condition with no missing or damaged pages. Shipped from UK. Orders will be dispatched within 48 hours of receiving your order. Orders are dispatched Monday â" Friday. FREE Returns service (for UK customers) for books upto 2kg please contact us for details. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000113791

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bethan Roberts
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is the story of two women, Nula and Maggie, joined by old family history and love for the same little boy. Nula, struggling with her new baby and feeling alone in her marriage, employs her cousin Maggie as a nanny when she returns to work. But it s not long before Nula finds herself theatened by Maggie s close bond with her son, Samuel. Nula s outwardly perfect house crackles with unspoken jealousies and rivalry until Maggie s intense love for Samuel tips into obsession and she decides her only option is to abduct the child. As Maggie makes her desperate bid for safety, the women s shared past of trauma and loss comes to the fore once more. WINNER OF THE JERWOOD FICTION UNCOVERED PRIZE 2015. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099555261

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bethan Roberts
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. This is the story of two women, Nula and Maggie, joined by old family history and love for the same little boy. Nula, struggling with her new baby and feeling alone in her marriage, employs her cousin Maggie as a nanny when she returns to work. But it s not long before Nula finds herself theatened by Maggie s close bond with her son, Samuel. Nula s outwardly perfect house crackles with unspoken jealousies and rivalry until Maggie s intense love for Samuel tips into obsession and she decides her only option is to abduct the child. As Maggie makes her desperate bid for safety, the women s shared past of trauma and loss comes to the fore once more. WINNER OF THE JERWOOD FICTION UNCOVERED PRIZE 2015. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099555261

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Roberts, Bethan
Published by Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000423256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.01
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Roberts, Bethan
Published by Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001631823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Roberts, Bethan
Published by Random House UK (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK, 2015. Book Condition: New. Nula, struggling with her new baby and feeling alone in her marriage, employs her cousin Maggie as a nanny when she returns to work. But it's not long before Nula finds herself threatened by Maggie's close bond with her son, Samuel. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 131 x 198 x 25. Weight in Grams: 226. . 2015. Reprint. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099555261

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Roberts, Bethan
Published by Random House UK
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House UK. Book Condition: New. Nula, struggling with her new baby and feeling alone in her marriage, employs her cousin Maggie as a nanny when she returns to work. But it's not long before Nula finds herself threatened by Maggie's close bond with her son, Samuel. Num Pages: 320 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 131 x 198 x 25. Weight in Grams: 226. . 2015. Reprint. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099555261

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bethan Roberts
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099555261

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Roberts Bethan
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099555263 ISBN 13: 9780099555261
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 322545603

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book