Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution

3.68 avg rating
( 84 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099554677: Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution

The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer's Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a strange and stubborn case. The investigation lasted twenty-four years and involved inquests, judges and coroners, each more determined than the last to solve Oddingley's most gruesome crime - or crimes, as it turned out.

With a cast of characters straight out of Hardy, Damn His Blood is a nail-biting true story of brutality, greed and ruthlessness which brings an elusive society vividly back to life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Written in the vein of Kate Summerscale's The Suspicions Of Mr Whicher, Moore's story is in many ways more compelling" ( Herald)

"Squire Haggard meets Midsomer Murders" ( Waterstones.com)

"A nail-biter" ( Daily Mail)

"A terrific read. First class research, beautifully written, a true thriller about an extraordinary story" (Edwina Currie)

"The clever thing is how deftly Peter Moore tells his story. At the time, the murders were a sensation so there are plenty of historical documents, but he has arranged the details in a way that shows a very canny eye for story-telling" (Nicholas Lezard Guardian)

Book Description:

Pining for the next thing after Kate Summerscale's Suspicions of Mr Whicher and Mrs Robinsons Disgrace? Look no further. Mr Whicher's Victorian inheritor: this is pacy true crime at its very best - a gripping read with a twist in the tale on a story that has never been told before. This is Squire Haggard meets Midsomer Murders.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Peter Moore
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer s Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a strange and stubborn case. The investigation lasted twenty-four years and involved inquests, judges and coroners, each more determined than the last to solve Oddingley s most gruesome crime - or crimes, as it turned out. With a cast of characters straight out of Hardy, Damn His Blood is a nail-biting true story of brutality, greed and ruthlessness which brings an elusive society vividly back to life. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099554677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Peter Moore
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer s Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a strange and stubborn case. The investigation lasted twenty-four years and involved inquests, judges and coroners, each more determined than the last to solve Oddingley s most gruesome crime - or crimes, as it turned out. With a cast of characters straight out of Hardy, Damn His Blood is a nail-biting true story of brutality, greed and ruthlessness which brings an elusive society vividly back to life. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099554677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Moore, Peter
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995546770000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Moore, Peter
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 19424835-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.10
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Peter Moore
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 28mm. Paperback. The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer's Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his ow.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 384 pages. 0.351. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099554677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Moore, Peter
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer's Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a strange and stubborn case. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: 1DBKEMT; 3JH; BTC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 29. Weight in Grams: 360. . 2013. Paperback. . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099554677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Peter Moore
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer's Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099554677_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Moore, Peter
Published by Vintage (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2013. Book Condition: New. The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer's Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a strange and stubborn case. Num Pages: 384 pages. BIC Classification: 1DBKEMT; 3JH; BTC. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 29. Weight in Grams: 360. . 2013. Paperback. . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099554677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Peter Moore
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Damn His Blood: Being a True and Detailed History of the Most Barbarous and Inhumane Murder at Oddingley and the Quick and Awful Retribution, Peter Moore, The brutal murder of the Reverend George Parker in the rural village of Oddingley on Midsummer's Day in 1806 - shot and beaten to death, his body set on fire and left smouldering in his own glebe field - gripped everyone from the Home Secretary in London to newspapermen across the country. It was a strange and stubborn case. The investigation lasted twenty-four years and involved inquests, judges and coroners, each more determined than the last to solve Oddingley's most gruesome crime - or crimes, as it turned out. With a cast of characters straight out of Hardy, Damn His Blood is a nail-biting true story of brutality, greed and ruthlessness which brings an elusive society vividly back to life. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099554677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Peter Moore
Published by Vintage Publishing 2013-06-06, London (2013)
ISBN 10: 0099554674 ISBN 13: 9780099554677
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing 2013-06-06, London, 2013. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099554677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book