Sandra Newman The Country of Ice Cream Star

ISBN 13: 9780099554653

The Country of Ice Cream Star

3.6 avg rating
( 1,911 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099554653: The Country of Ice Cream Star

A post-apocalyptic literary epic in the tradition of The Handmaid's Tale, Divergent and Cloud Atlas, and a breakout book in North America for a writer of rare and unconventional talent.
     From Guardian First Book Award finalist Sandra Newman comes an ambitious and extraordinary novel of a future in which bands of children and teens survive on the detritus--physical and cultural--of a collapsed America. When her brother is struck down by Posies--a contagion that has killed everyone by their late teens for generations--fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star pursues the rumour of a cure and sets out on a quest to save him, her tribe and what's left of their future. Along the way she faces broken hearts and family tragedy, mortal danger and all-out war--and much growing up for the girl who may have led herself and everyone she loves to their doom.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the ruins of a future America, fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star and her nomadic tribe live off the detritus of a fallen civilization. Theirs is a world of children; before reaching the age of twenty, they all die of a disease they call Posies—a plague that has killed for generations.

When her brother begins showing signs of the disease, Ice Cream Star sets off to find a cure. Led by a captured prisoner who becomes her devoted protector and friend, she travels hundreds of miles across treacherous territory, fighting to protect the only world she has ever known.

Written in a lyrical, inventive patois, The Country of Ice Cream Star is a postapocalyptic literary epic as imaginative as The Passage and as ambitious as Cloud Atlas. This is a breathtaking work from a writer of rare and unconventional talent.

“Builds towards a powerful, horrifying, and beautifully written climax, one that’s epic in scope but also feels intensely personal.” —New York Times Book Review

“Blends elements of American history, popular culture, and political allegory with romance and thriller pacing. This suspenseful, provocative tale is The Hunger Games meets Lord of the Flies and The Walking Dead, only much, much better.” —Booklist

“Ice Cream’s language is as potent and earthy as Chaucerian vernacular. . . . One begins to think in this dialect; it is as sweet and addictive as Ice Cream herself.” —Globe and Mail (Toronto)

About the Author:

SANDRA NEWMAN is the author of Cake and The Only Good Thing Anyone Has Ever Done; a memoir, Changeling; and The Western Lit Survival Kit: How to Read the Classics without Fear. She is co-author of the bestselling How Not to Write a Novel and Read This Next. Newman lives in Brooklyn.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sandra Newman
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. My name be Ice Cream Fifteen Star and this be the tale of how I bring the cure to all the Nighted States, save every poory children, short for life. Is how a city die for selfish love, and rise from this same smallness. Be how the new America begin, in wars against all hope - a country with no power in a world that hate its life. So been the faith I sworn, and it ain t evils in no world nor cruelties in no red hell can change the vally heart of Ice Cream Star. In the ruins of a future America, fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star and her people survive by scavenging in the detritus of an abandoned civilization. Theirs is a world of children - by the time they reach twenty, each of them will die from a disease they call posies. When her brother sickens, Ice Cream sets out on the trail of a cure, led by a stranger whose intentions remain unclear. It s a quest that will lead her to love and heartbreak, to captivity and to a nation s throne, and ultimately into a war that threatens to doom everyone she loves. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099554653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sandra Newman
Published by Vintage 2015-04-02 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2015-04-02, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05169465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sandra Newman
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. My name be Ice Cream Fifteen Star and this be the tale of how I bring the cure to all the Nighted States, save every poory children, short for life. Is how a city die for selfish love, and rise from this same smallness. Be how the new America begin, in wars against all hope - a country with no power in a world that hate its life. So been the faith I sworn, and it ain t evils in no world nor cruelties in no red hell can change the vally heart of Ice Cream Star. In the ruins of a future America, fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star and her people survive by scavenging in the detritus of an abandoned civilization. Theirs is a world of children - by the time they reach twenty, each of them will die from a disease they call posies. When her brother sickens, Ice Cream sets out on the trail of a cure, led by a stranger whose intentions remain unclear. It s a quest that will lead her to love and heartbreak, to captivity and to a nation s throne, and ultimately into a war that threatens to doom everyone she loves. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099554653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Newman, Sandra
Published by Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2015. Book Condition: New. In the ruins of a future America, fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star and her people survive by scavenging in the detritus of an abandoned civilization. Theirs is a world of children - by the time they reach twenty, each of them will die from a disease they call posies. Num Pages: 640 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 198 x 41. Weight in Grams: 514. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099554653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Newman, Sandra
Published by Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001516778

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Newman, Sandra
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. In the ruins of a future America, fifteen-year-old Ice Cream Star and her people survive by scavenging in the detritus of an abandoned civilization. Theirs is a world of children - by the time they reach twenty, each of them will die from a disease they call posies. Num Pages: 640 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 132 x 198 x 41. Weight in Grams: 514. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099554653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sandra Newman
Published by Vintage (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780099554653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.66
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sandra Newman
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099554653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Newman Sandra
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 322535768

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Newman, Sandra
Published by Random House (2015)
ISBN 10: 0099554658 ISBN 13: 9780099554653
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780099554653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book