Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1)

3.44 avg rating
( 294 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099546962: Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Cámara 1)

Either you kill the bull, or the bull kills you - traditional proverb.

Chief Inspector Max Cámara hates bullfighting but one hot afternoon in Valencia he has to replace his boss, judging a festival corrida that stars Spain's most famous young matador. That night, he is summoned back to the bullring where the young matador's dead body now lies, naked and mutilated.

As the city prepares for Fallas, the five day festival of fireworks and celebrations, and the politicians work feverishly towards an election, Cámara hunts down his prey through the city's streets and bars. But as he follows the trail of death, money, corruption and sex in search of the killer, he must also battle his own demons and desires...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"One of the most attractive figures to enter recent detective fiction... Like the best detective stories, this book becomes a scrutiny of our most powerful drives and secrets" (Jane Jakeman Independent)

"Does for Spain what Michael Dibdin did to wonderful effect in his 'Zen' novels for Italy ... a marvellous novel ripe with passion, love and murder ... it is wonderful to read about a crime thriller in the sun - rather than the latest fashion of Swedish murders with its freezing cold and bleak weather, short days and long nights!" ( Crimesquad.com)

"Nifty plotting, great descriptions and the most enchanting new detective I've come across in a good while" ( Guardian)

"Cámara's approach to policing is pleasantly quixotic, involving as little time on the job as possible, but the shambolic cop with virility issues is absorbing company and Webster captures the manic atmosphere of the fiesta" (Siobhan Murphy Metro)

"He mixes the various ingredients of Valencian tradition, political factions and personal intrigue into a memorable paella of Mediterranean noir" ( Independent)

Book Description:

A young matador is murdered in the first in this gripping, hot-blooded detective series, with an authentic Spanish setting - perfect for fans of Michael Dibdin

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

JASON WEBSTER
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Quantity Available: 11
Seller
Bibliophile
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. P. Bookseller Inventory # 80617

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 3.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.50
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jason Webster
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Either you kill the bull, or the bull kills you - traditional proverb. Chief Inspector Max Camara hates bullfighting but one hot afternoon in Valencia he has to replace his boss, judging a festival corrida that stars Spain s most famous young matador. That night, he is summoned back to the bullring where the young matador s dead body now lies, naked and mutilated. As the city prepares for Fallas, the five day festival of fireworks and celebrations, and the politicians work feverishly towards an election, Camara hunts down his prey through the city s streets and bars. But as he follows the trail of death, money, corruption and sex in search of the killer, he must also battle his own demons and desires. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099546962

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jason Webster
Published by Random House (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2012. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780099546962

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jason Webster
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Either you kill the bull, or the bull kills you - traditional proverb. Chief Inspector Max Camara hates bullfighting but one hot afternoon in Valencia he has to replace his boss, judging a festival corrida that stars Spain s most famous young matador. That night, he is summoned back to the bullring where the young matador s dead body now lies, naked and mutilated. As the city prepares for Fallas, the five day festival of fireworks and celebrations, and the politicians work feverishly towards an election, Camara hunts down his prey through the city s streets and bars. But as he follows the trail of death, money, corruption and sex in search of the killer, he must also battle his own demons and desires. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099546962

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jason Webster
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Or the Bull Kills You: (Max Camara 1), Jason Webster, Either you kill the bull, or the bull kills you - traditional proverb. Chief Inspector Max Camara hates bullfighting but one hot afternoon in Valencia he has to replace his boss, judging a festival corrida that stars Spain's most famous young matador. That night, he is summoned back to the bullring where the young matador's dead body now lies, naked and mutilated. As the city prepares for Fallas, the five day festival of fireworks and celebrations, and the politicians work feverishly towards an election, Camara hunts down his prey through the city's streets and bars. But as he follows the trail of death, money, corruption and sex in search of the killer, he must also battle his own demons and desires. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099546962

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 5.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Webster, Jason
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099546965. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099546965

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jason Webster
Published by Vintage Publishing 2012-03-01, London (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing 2012-03-01, London, 2012. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099546962

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jason Webster
Published by Vintage (2012)
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-04824886

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Webster, Jason
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995469620000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 9.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Jason Webster
ISBN 10: 0099546965 ISBN 13: 9780099546962
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Either you kill the bull, or the bull kills you - traditional proverb. Chief Inspector Max Camara hates bullfighting but one hot afternoon in Valencia he has to replace his boss, judging a festival corrida that stars Spain's most famous young matador. That night, he is summoned back to the bullring. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099546962_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book