Lanagan, Margo Tender Morsels

ISBN 13: 9780099546139

Tender Morsels

3.56 avg rating
( 4,659 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099546139: Tender Morsels

In her inspired re-working of the fairy-tale Snow White and Rose Red Margo Lanagan has created characters that are vivid, passionate, flawed and fiercely devoted to their hearts' desires, whether these desires are good or evil. It is the story of two worlds - one real, one magical - and how, despite the safe haven her magical world offers to those who have suffered, her characters can never turn their backs on the real world, with all its beauty and brutality.

Tender Morsels is an astonishing novel, fraught with the tension between love and horror, violence and tenderness, despair and hope.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

" Tender Morsels...is funny, tragic, wise, tender and beautifully written. It also left me gasping with shock...It is with a mixture of respect and delight that I greet any book capable of blasting an entire genre out of the water with its audacity and grace. Tender Morsels is such a book" (Meg Rosoff Guardian)

"A work of genius, with richly inventive language and a brilliantly imagined fairy tale context... the brutal moments are woeven in like dark threads in a rich and complex tapestry" (Dinah Hall Sunday Telegraph)

"A novel that explores the most profound human emotions with a clear gaze; it made me weep like a child at the end" ( Observer)

"A striking retelling of the Grimms' Snow White and Rose Red, told in a rich yet remote prose style, it is, like Lanagan's award-winning collection of short stories, Red Spikes, likely to appeal to teenage girls with a taste for the original and the sinister" (Amanda Craig The Times)

"It's a rewardingly complex and emotional story told in highly imaginative prose. The worlds Lanagan creates are so rich and multi-layered it's easy to get lost in the book's 500 pages, never wanting to leave" ( Scotsman)

Book Description:

An astonishing adult re-working of a classic fairy tale, brilliantly reviewed and perfect for fans of Angela Carter and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lanagan, Margo
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In her inspired re-working of the fairy-tale Snow White and Rose Red , Margo Lanagan has created characters that are vivid, passionate, flawed and fiercely devoted to their hearts desires, whether these desires are good or evil. It is the story of two worlds - one real, one magical - and how, despite the safe haven her magical world offers to those who have suffered, her characters can never turn their backs on the real world, with all its beauty and brutality. Tender Morsels is an astonishing novel, fraught with the tension between love and horror, violence and tenderness, despair and hope. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099546139

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lanagan, Margo
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. 2010. Paperback. A novel that features the tension between love and horror, violence and tenderness, despair and hope. Num Pages: 496 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 340. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099546139

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lanagan, Margo
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In her inspired re-working of the fairy-tale Snow White and Rose Red , Margo Lanagan has created characters that are vivid, passionate, flawed and fiercely devoted to their hearts desires, whether these desires are good or evil. It is the story of two worlds - one real, one magical - and how, despite the safe haven her magical world offers to those who have suffered, her characters can never turn their backs on the real world, with all its beauty and brutality. Tender Morsels is an astonishing novel, fraught with the tension between love and horror, violence and tenderness, despair and hope. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099546139

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lanagan, Margo
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. 2010. Paperback. A novel that features the tension between love and horror, violence and tenderness, despair and hope. Num Pages: 496 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 130 x 31. Weight in Grams: 340. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099546139

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lanagan, Margo
Published by Vintage 2010-07-01|NU-GRD-00485863 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2010-07-01|NU-GRD-00485863, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 9780099546139. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00485863

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lanagan, Margo
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; In her inspired re-working of the fairy-tale Snow White and Rose Red , Margo Lanagan has created characters that are vivid, passionate, flawed and fiercely devoted to their hearts' desires, whether these desires are good or evil. It is the story of two worlds - one real, one magical - and how, de. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099546139_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lanagan, Margo
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 035987

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lanagan, Margo
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Green Books
(Wicklow, Ireland)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New Book. Shipping: Once your order has been confirmed and payment received, your order will then be processed. The book will be located by our staff, packaged and despatched to you as quickly as possible. From time to time, items get mislaid en route. If your item fails to arrive, please contact us first. We will endeavour to trace the item for you and where necessary, replace or refund the item. Please do not leave negative feedback without contacting us first. All orders will be dispatched within two working days. If you have any quesions please contact us. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099546139

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.23
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lanagan, Margo
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan, In her inspired re-working of the fairy-tale "Snow White" and "Rose Red", Margo Lanagan has created characters that are vivid, passionate, flawed and fiercely devoted to their hearts' desires, whether these desires are good or evil. It is the story of two worlds - one real, one magical - and how, despite the safe haven her magical world offers to those who have suffered, her characters can never turn their backs on the real world, with all its beauty and brutality. "Tender Morsels" is an astonishing novel, fraught with the tension between love and horror, violence and tenderness, despair and hope. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099546139

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lanagan, Margo
ISBN 10: 0099546132 ISBN 13: 9780099546139
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GA9780099546139

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.39
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book