Harris, Robert Archangel

ISBN 13: 9780099527930

Archangel

3.76 avg rating
( 6,504 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099527930: Archangel

When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Archangel, and a terrifying encounter with Russia's unburied past.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Before political journalist Robert Harris turned to fiction and resurrected Hitler for his best selling novel Fatherland, he also wrote a hugely entertaining account of the farce surrounding the publication of the hoax Hitler diaries. Archangel, with the obvious exception of substituting Hitler for that other 20th-century ogre Josef Stalin, can be seen as something of a combination of these previous projects. The novel opens in present-day Russia where a louche Oxford academic, Christopher "Fluke" Kelso, is attending a conference on the newly available Stalin archives. Kelso quickly becomes embroiled in a quest for some of Uncle Joe's still secret papers--and also a quest to make his own academic reputation--but soon uncovers more than he bargains for. The ghosts of the old authoritarian past exert a peculiar and all too powerful tug on Yeltsin's fragile capitalist democracy and as Kelso is drawn ever nearer to the secret that lies in the remote White Sea port of Archangel so the tragedies of the past become hideously more plausible in the present. Harris is historically sound, politically astute and his acute insight into the apparatus of state repression and minds of despots is unnerving. But most of all he tells a terrific yarn and Archangel sees him on top form. This is his best yet.-- Nick Wroe

Review:

"The best thriller for years" ( Sunday Telegraph)

"His best yet: a fast paced thriller, pulsing with suspense, that surpasses even the expertly handled tensions and twists of Fatherland" ( Sunday Times)

"Robert Harris confirms his position as Britain's pre-eminent literary thriller writer with Archangel" ( The Times)

"A really gripping narrative, full of suspense and unexpected turns, which will keep you hooked until the climax on its final page... I have never read a thriller based in Russia which has such an authentic feel" ( Evening Standard)

" Archangel is Harris's strongest book yet, confirming him as the leading current exponent of the intelligent literary thriller" ( The Times)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Robert Harris
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Archangel, and a terrifying encounter with Russia s unburied past. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Robert Harris
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Archangel, and a terrifying encounter with Russia s unburied past. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Harris, Robert
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995279300000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Robert Harris
Published by Arrow 2009-10-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow 2009-10-01, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-01009811

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Robert Harris
Published by Arrow 2009-10-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow 2009-10-01, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00642281

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Robert Harris
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 27mm. Paperback. of great intelligence in the tradition of Conrad, Greene and le Carre. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 432 pages. 0.302. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Harris, Robert
Published by Arrow
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 28. Weight in Grams: 310. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Robert Harris
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 14
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Ar. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099527930_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Harris, Robert
Published by Arrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2009. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 28. Weight in Grams: 310. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Robert Harris
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099527936 ISBN 13: 9780099527930
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Archangel, Robert Harris, When historian Fluke Kelso learns of the existence of a secret notebook belonging to Josef Stalin he is determined to track it down, whatever the consequences. From the violent political intrigue and decadence of modern Moscow he heads north - to the vast forests surrounding the White Sea port of Archangel, and a terrifying encounter with Russia's unburied past. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099527930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book