Torn Apart. James Patterson and Hal Friedman

4.13 avg rating
( 584 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099522843: Torn Apart. James Patterson and Hal Friedman

Cory Friedman was an ordinary fun-loving little boy. But one fateful March morning in 1989, the course of Cory's life changed dramatically. It started with an irresistible urge to shake his head; before long, overtaken by physical urges, tics and compulsions, his body became a volatile, explosive and unpredictable force. Cory had developed a rare combination of Tourette's syndrome, obsessive-compulsive disorder, anxiety disorder and other neurological conditions. The life he knew had been torn apart and his family were left watching him suffer. Desperate to help and hopeful of a cure, they embarked on a fifteen-year struggle which took them beyond breaking point.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

JAMES PATTERSON is one of the best-known and biggest-selling writers of all time. His books have sold in excess of 325 million copies worldwide. He is the author of some of the most popular series of the past two decades - the Alex Cross, Women's Murder Club, Detective Michael Bennett and Private novels - and he has written many other number one bestsellers including romance novels and stand-alone thrillers. James is passionate about encouraging children to read. Inspired by his own son who was a reluctant reader, he also writes a range of books for young readers including the Middle School, I Funny, Treasure Hunters, House of Robots, Confessions, and Maximum Ride series. James has donated millions in grants to independent bookshops and has been the most borrowed author in UK libraries for the past nine years in a row. He lives in Florida with his wife and son.

Review:

"Highly readable and emotionally affecting" Mirror "A work of naked truth, as disturbing as it is important ... This true story of Hal Friedman's son, Cory, is a gift of honesty, huge courage, and hope, and a reminder that against all medical advice and odds, human beings can prevail" -- Patricia Cornwell "[Torn Apart] is both harrowing and heartbreaking, but is also a story of astonishing courage. This book stands as a testament to the amazing power of one family's unconditional love for each other" -- Tess Gerritsen "In the tradition of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Patterson and Friedman manage to get deep inside debilitating illness, and show us what life looks like from that perspective. [Torn Apart] is an amazing story of courage, fortitude and a family's love, simply told" -- Terri Cheney, author of Manic: A Memoir "Inspiring ... a testament to the importance of family and the resilient nature of the human spirit" -- George Pelecanos, author of The Turnaround

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

James Patterson
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Cory Friedman was an ordinary fun-loving little boy. But one fateful March morning in 1989, the course of Cory s life changed dramatically. It started with an irresistible urge to shake his head; before long, overtaken by physical urges, tics and compulsions, his body became a volatile, explosive and unpredictable force. Cory had developed a rare combination of Tourette s syndrome, obsessive-compulsive disorder, anxiety disorder and other neurological conditions. The life he knew had been torn apart and his family were left watching him suffer. Desperate to help and hopeful of a cure, they embarked on a fifteen-year struggle which took them beyond breaking point. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099522843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

James Patterson
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Cory Friedman was an ordinary fun-loving little boy. But one fateful March morning in 1989, the course of Cory s life changed dramatically. It started with an irresistible urge to shake his head; before long, overtaken by physical urges, tics and compulsions, his body became a volatile, explosive and unpredictable force. Cory had developed a rare combination of Tourette s syndrome, obsessive-compulsive disorder, anxiety disorder and other neurological conditions. The life he knew had been torn apart and his family were left watching him suffer. Desperate to help and hopeful of a cure, they embarked on a fifteen-year struggle which took them beyond breaking point. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099522843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

James Patterson
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995228430000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Patterson, James
Published by Arrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pearlydewdrops
(Streat, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Shipped from the UK within 2 business days of order being placed. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000053506

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

James Patterson
Published by Arrow 2009-09-10 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow 2009-09-10, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00563158

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

James Patterson
Published by Arrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000192928

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

James Patterson
Published by Random House 2009-09-10, London (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House 2009-09-10, London, 2009. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099522843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

James Patterson
Published by Arrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2009. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780099522843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.58
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

James Patterson
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Torn Apart: The True Story of a Childhood Lost, James Patterson, Cory Friedman was an ordinary fun-loving little boy. But one fateful March morning in 1989, the course of Cory's life changed dramatically. It started with an irresistible urge to shake his head; before long, overtaken by physical urges, tics and compulsions, his body became a volatile, explosive and unpredictable force. Cory had developed a rare combination of Tourette's syndrome, obsessive-compulsive disorder, anxiety disorder and other neurological conditions. The life he knew had been torn apart and his family were left watching him suffer. Desperate to help and hopeful of a cure, they embarked on a fifteen-year struggle which took them beyond breaking point. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099522843

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

James Patterson
ISBN 10: 0099522845 ISBN 13: 9780099522843
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Cory Friedman was an ordinary fun-loving little boy. But one fateful March morning in 1989, the course of Cory's life changed dramatically. It started with an irresistible urge to shake his head; before long, overtaken by physical urges, tics and compulsions, his body became a volatile, explosive an. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099522843_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book