Direct Red: A Surgeon's Story

3.63 avg rating
( 499 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099520696: Direct Red: A Surgeon's Story

How does it feel to hold someone's life in your hands? What is it like to cut into someone else's body? What is it like to stand by, powerless, while someone dies because of the incompetence of your seniors? How do you tell a beautiful young man who seems perfectly fit that he has only a few days left to live? Gabriel Weston worked as a surgeon in the big-city hospitals of the twenty-first century; a woman in a world dominated by Alpha males. Her world was one of disease, suffering and extraordinary pressure where a certain moral ambiguity and clinical detachment were necessary tools for survival. Startling and honest, her account combines a fierce sense of human dignity with compassion and insight, illuminating scenes of life and death the rest of us rarely glimpse. Direct Red won the 2010 PEN/ Ackerley Prize and was longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award 2009.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In the tradition of Atul Gawande and Sherwin B. Nuland comes an eloquent and piercing account of a young woman's surgical education.

Surgeons have long been known for their allergy to doubt, an unsurprising trait in professionals who must play God, routinely risking someone else's life in order to do their job. But in this illuminating memoir, Gabriel Weston reveals the emotions, passions, and doubts normally hidden behind a surgeon's mask.

Weston, a surgeon, is also a writer of extraordinary gifts. Compassionate and truthful, her voice brings us into a theater we are normally not allowed to enter. At Weston's side, we learn what it's like to stand in an operating room holding someone's neck open for seven hours, what happens when the line between the personal and the professional begins to blur, and about the shame of watching a patient die. Interweaving her own story with those of her patients, old and young, Weston evokes both the humor and the heartbreak that come from medicine's daily confrontation with the ultimate unknowability of the human body. With prose that does not flinch from the raw, graphic realities of a surgeon's day, Weston confronts life, death, and the unique difficulties of being a female surgeon in a heavily male-dominated profession.

About the Author:

Gabriel Weston was born in 1970. She went to Edinburgh University to read English and from there to medical school in London. She graduated as a doctor in 2000 and became a Member of the Royal College of Surgeons in 2003. She now works as a part-time ENT surgeon. She lives in London with her husband and two children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gabriel Weston
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. How does it feel to hold someone s life in your hands? What is it like to cut into someone else s body? What is it like to stand by, powerless, while someone dies because of the incompetence of your seniors? How do you tell a beautiful young man who seems perfectly fit that he has only a few days left to live? Gabriel Weston worked as a surgeon in the big-city hospitals of the twenty-first century; a woman in a world dominated by Alpha males. Her world was one of disease, suffering and extraordinary pressure where a certain moral ambiguity and clinical detachment were necessary tools for survival. Startling and honest, her account combines a fierce sense of human dignity with compassion and insight, illuminating scenes of life and death the rest of us rarely glimpse. Direct Red won the 2010 PEN/ Ackerley Prize and was longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award 2009. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099520696

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gabriel Weston
Published by Vintage 2010-02-04 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2010-02-04, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00410521

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Weston, Gabriel
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001754220

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gabriel Weston
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. How does it feel to hold someone s life in your hands? What is it like to cut into someone else s body? What is it like to stand by, powerless, while someone dies because of the incompetence of your seniors? How do you tell a beautiful young man who seems perfectly fit that he has only a few days left to live? Gabriel Weston worked as a surgeon in the big-city hospitals of the twenty-first century; a woman in a world dominated by Alpha males. Her world was one of disease, suffering and extraordinary pressure where a certain moral ambiguity and clinical detachment were necessary tools for survival. Startling and honest, her account combines a fierce sense of human dignity with compassion and insight, illuminating scenes of life and death the rest of us rarely glimpse. Direct Red won the 2010 PEN/ Ackerley Prize and was longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award 2009. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099520696

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Weston, Gabriel
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Aardvark Rare Books
(Bucknell, SHROP, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000223869

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Weston, Gabriel
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Book Condition: New. 2010. Paperback. How does it feel to hold someone's life in your hands? What is it like to cut into someone else's body? What is it like to stand by, powerless, while someone dies because of the incompetence of your seniors? This account illuminates scenes of life and death. Num Pages: 192 pages. BIC Classification: BM; MN. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 12. Weight in Grams: 138. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099520696

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Gabriel Weston
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099520699. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099520699

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Weston, Gabriel
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. 2010. Paperback. How does it feel to hold someone's life in your hands? What is it like to cut into someone else's body? What is it like to stand by, powerless, while someone dies because of the incompetence of your seniors? This account illuminates scenes of life and death. Num Pages: 192 pages. BIC Classification: BM; MN. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 12. Weight in Grams: 138. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099520696

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Gabriel Weston
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099520696

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Gabriel Weston
Published by Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 0099520699 ISBN 13: 9780099520696
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2010. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780099520696

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book