Favorite, Eileen The Heroines

ISBN 13: 9780099514275

The Heroines

2.77 avg rating
( 965 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099514275: The Heroines

Up in the dusty attic of Prairie Bluff Homestead, Anne-Marie keeps all of her beloved books locked safely away. For her treasured novels - and the tragic heroines who make them so irresistible - have a way of hitting too close to home. To the Homestead itself, actually...

This otherwise ordinary boarding house has become the favoured refuge of the great women of literature, who descend on Anne-Marie and her daughter Penny - at all hours, and in all manner of distress - as their storylines are unravelling. And the last thing Anne-Marie needs is an emotional Anna Karenina accidentally discovering she is bound to take her own life on the railway tracks.

The Homestead has played host to a heartbroken Emma Bovary, a distraught Scarlett O'Hara, a weeping Catherine Earnshaw - but this extraordinary literary education will teach Penny as much about herself, her mother and their destinies as it does about the heroines...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Funny and tender ... a chance to see Scarlett O'Hara and Emma Bovary off duty" (Audrey Niffenegger)

"A fun take on the impact literature can have on our lives" ( Publisher's Weekly)

"What if the heroines of classic novels could step out of fiction into the real world for a brief sojourn?This clever, charming debut is a must-read for literature lovers" ( Booklist)

"[A] beguiling literary debut ... to carry you away" ( Good Housekeeping)

Book Description:

A stunning debut novel, funny and off-beat, for fans of Audrey Niffenegger and Diane Setterfield

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Favorite, Eileen
Published by Random House (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780099514275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Favorite, Eileen
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Up in the dusty attic of Prairie Bluff Homestead, Anne-Marie keeps all of her beloved books locked safely away. For her treasured novels - and the tragic heroines who make them so irresistible - have a way of hitting too close to home. To the Homestead itself, actually.This otherwise ordinary boarding house has become the favoured refuge of the great women of literature, who descend on Anne-Marie and her daughter Penny - at all hours, and in all manner of distress - as their storylines are unravelling. And the last thing Anne-Marie needs is an emotional Anna Karenina accidentally discovering she is bound to take her own life on the railway tracks. The Homestead has played host to a heartbroken Emma Bovary, a distraught Scarlett O Hara, a weeping Catherine Earnshaw - but this extraordinary literary education will teach Penny as much about herself, her mother and their destinies as it does about the heroines. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099514275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Favorite, Eileen
Published by Arrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2009. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 030178

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.97
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Favorite, Eileen
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Up in the dusty attic of Prairie Bluff Homestead, Anne-Marie keeps all of her beloved books locked safely away. For her treasured novels - and the tragic heroines who make them so irresistible - have a way of hitting too close to home. To the Homestead itself, actually.This otherwise ordinary boarding house has become the favoured refuge of the great women of literature, who descend on Anne-Marie and her daughter Penny - at all hours, and in all manner of distress - as their storylines are unravelling. And the last thing Anne-Marie needs is an emotional Anna Karenina accidentally discovering she is bound to take her own life on the railway tracks. The Homestead has played host to a heartbroken Emma Bovary, a distraught Scarlett O Hara, a weeping Catherine Earnshaw - but this extraordinary literary education will teach Penny as much about herself, her mother and their destinies as it does about the heroines. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099514275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Favorite, Eileen
Published by Arrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow, 2009. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. Up in the dusty attic of Prairie Bluff Homestead, Anne-Marie keeps all of her beloved books locked safely away. For her treasured novels - and the tragic heroines who make them so irresistible - have a way of hitting too close to home. To the Homestead itself, actually. Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 200 x 129 x 18. Weight in Grams: 182. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099514275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Favorite, Eileen
Published by Arrow
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. Up in the dusty attic of Prairie Bluff Homestead, Anne-Marie keeps all of her beloved books locked safely away. For her treasured novels - and the tragic heroines who make them so irresistible - have a way of hitting too close to home. To the Homestead itself, actually. Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 200 x 129 x 18. Weight in Grams: 182. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099514275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Favorite, Eileen
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 5715535-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Favorite, Eileen
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 4212736

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.35
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Favorite, Eileen
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 21mm. Paperback. Up in the dusty attic of Prairie Bluff Homestead, Anne-Marie keeps all of her beloved books locked safely away. For her treasured novels - and the tragic heroines who make them so irresist.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 256 pages. 0.175. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099514275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 23.26
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Favorite, Eileen
ISBN 10: 0099514273 ISBN 13: 9780099514275
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 21mm. Paperback. Up in the dusty attic of Prairie Bluff Homestead, Anne-Marie keeps all of her beloved books locked safely away. For her treasured novels - and the tragic heroines who make the.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 256 pages. 0.175. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099514275

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 23.26
From Australia to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds