Vintage Lies: What Maisie Knew & Atonement (Vintage Classic Twins)

4 avg rating
( 9 ratings by Goodreads )
9780099511342: Vintage Lies: What Maisie Knew & Atonement (Vintage Classic Twins)

"Vintage Lies" is a limited edition gift pack which consists of beautifully designed separate volumes of "What Maisie Knew" by Henry James and Ian McEwan's million-copy selling bestseller "Atonement". "Vintage Lies" is just one of ten "Vintage Classic Twins" to collect. Each twin consists of two books: a specially designed limited edition of one modern classic title and one established classic work. The books in each pair have been carefully selected to provide a thought-provoking combination. "What Maisie Knew": Caught in the crossfire of her parents' acrimonious divorce, witness to their battles, intrigues and affairs, neglected and exploited, Maisie is a child who knows too much about the world of adults. James' portrait of a little girl who maintains her goodness and dignity in the face of the bitterness and profligacy of her warring parents is inspiring. "Atonement": On the hottest day of the summer of 1934, thirteen-year-old Briony Tallis sees her sister Cecilia strip off her clothes and plunge into the fountain in the garden of their country house. Watching her is Robbie Turner, her childhood friend. By the end of that day, the lives of all three will have been changed for ever. Briony will have witnessed mysteries, and committed a crime for which she will spend the rest of her life trying to atone.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


Atonement: He is this country's unrivalled literary giant...a
fascinatingly strange, unique and gripping novel
-- Independent on Sunday

Atonement: Subtle as well as powerful, adeptly encompassing comedy
as well as atrocity, Atonement is a richly intricate book. A superb
achievement which combines a magnificent display of the powers of the
imagination with a probing exploration of them -- Sunday Times

What Maisie Knew: Contains some of his best comedy and some of his
most melancholy insights...embodies everything that James excelled at in
fiction -- Paul Theroux

What Maisie Knew: James' finest working of his preoccupation with
the theme of innocence corrupted... James is the master of making what is
not said the most important thing on the -- Kate Atkinson

About the Author:

Henry James was born on 15 April 1843 in New York to a wealthy and intellectual family and as a youth travelled widely and studied in Europe. He briefly studied law at Harvard before he took up writing full-time. His first novel, Watch and Ward, was published in 1871 and many followed including Roderick Hudson (1875), Portrait of a Lady (1881), The Awkward Age (1899), The Wings of the Dove (1902), The Ambassadors (1903) and The Golden Bowl (1904). He also wrote short stories, reviews, biographies, plays and travel books.After a brief period in Paris, James moved to London.He later settled in Rye in Sussex and became a British citizen in 1915. Henry James died on 28 February 1916. Ian McEwan has written two collections of short stories and many novels, including the award winning Saturday. He won the 1998 Booker Prize for his novel Amsterdam. He has also written several film scripts.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: 7
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


McEwan, Ian, James, Henry
Published by Vintage Classics (2007)
ISBN 10: 0099511347 ISBN 13: 9780099511342
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Orbiting Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Vintage Classics, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch from the UK (Mon-Fri). Please contact us with any queries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000439504

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds