Romano-Lax, Andromeda The Spanish Bow

ISBN 13: 9780099504238

The Spanish Bow

3.66 avg rating
( 784 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099504238: The Spanish Bow

When Feliu Delargo is born, late-nineteenth-century Spain is a nation slipping from international power and struggling with its own fractured identity, caught between the chaos of post-empire and impending Civil War.

Feliu's troubled childhood and rise to fame lead him into a thorny partnership with an even more famous and eccentric figure, the piano prodigy Justo Al-Cerraz. The two musicians' divergent artistic goals and political inclinations threaten to divide them as Spain plunges into Civil War. But as Civil War turns to World War, shared love for their trio partner -- an Italian violinist named Aviva -- forces them into their final and most dangerous collaboration.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Impressive... The epic story of Feliu Delargo, an underprivileged child prodigy whose musical ability brings him into contact with world leaders, first-class artists and a life filled with loss and triumph... For sheer scope and ambition, this is a tough debut to beat." ( Publishers Weekly)

"The book is almost dizzyingly episodic, but bound together by Feliu's lifelong struggle with the question of the proper relationship between music and politics, a subject Romano-Lax handles with finesse. ... A deft, inventive debut." ( Kirkus Reviews)

"This riveting historical page-turner moves inexorably toward a heartrending crescendo." ( Booklist)

"An impressive and richly atmospheric debut." ( New York Times Book Review)

Book Description:

A stunning, sweeping novel about the power of art and music to shape lives and nations, set in early 20th century Spain, told through the eyes of cellist Feliu Delargo. For readers of The Shadow of the Wind .

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
Published by Windmill
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0099504235. Bookseller Inventory # Z0099504235ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
Published by Windmill
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0099504235. Bookseller Inventory # Z0099504235ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
Published by Windmill 2009-03-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Windmill 2009-03-01, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 0099504235. Bookseller Inventory # Z0099504235ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. When Feliu Delargo is born, late-nineteenth-century Spain is a nation slipping from international power and struggling with its own fractured identity, caught between the chaos of post-empire and impending Civil War. Feliu s troubled childhood and rise to fame lead him into a thorny partnership with an even more famous and eccentric figure, the piano prodigy Justo Al-Cerraz. The two musicians divergent artistic goals and political inclinations threaten to divide them as Spain plunges into Civil War. But as Civil War turns to World War, shared love for their trio partner - an Italian violinist named Aviva - forces them into their final and most dangerous collaboration. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099504238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
Published by Cornerstone, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. When Feliu Delargo is born, late-nineteenth-century Spain is a nation slipping from international power and struggling with its own fractured identity, caught between the chaos of post-empire and impending Civil War. Feliu s troubled childhood and rise to fame lead him into a thorny partnership with an even more famous and eccentric figure, the piano prodigy Justo Al-Cerraz. The two musicians divergent artistic goals and political inclinations threaten to divide them as Spain plunges into Civil War. But as Civil War turns to World War, shared love for their trio partner - an Italian violinist named Aviva - forces them into their final and most dangerous collaboration. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099504238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 5976576-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.13
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800995042380000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 34mm. Paperback. When Feliu Delargo is born, late-nineteenth-century Spain is a nation slipping from international power and struggling with its own fractured identity, caught between the chaos of post-emp.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 560 pages. 0.394. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099504238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
Published by Cornerstone (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone, 2009. Book Condition: New. Feliu Delargo's troubled childhood and rise to fame lead him into a thorny partnership with an even more famous and eccentric figure, the piano prodigy Justo Al-Cerraz. But as Civil War turns to World War, shared love for their trio partner - an Italian violinist named Aviva - forces them into their final and most dangerous collaboration. Num Pages: 560 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 131 x 30. Weight in Grams: 368. . 2009. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099504238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Romano-Lax, Andromeda
Published by Cornerstone
ISBN 10: 0099504235 ISBN 13: 9780099504238
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cornerstone. Book Condition: New. Feliu Delargo's troubled childhood and rise to fame lead him into a thorny partnership with an even more famous and eccentric figure, the piano prodigy Justo Al-Cerraz. But as Civil War turns to World War, shared love for their trio partner - an Italian violinist named Aviva - forces them into their final and most dangerous collaboration. Num Pages: 560 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 131 x 30. Weight in Grams: 368. . 2009. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099504238

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book