Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler

3.68 avg rating
( 276 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099498247: Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler

St Petersburg, 1899. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year's Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush, the biggest gamble ever, to challenge the Devil to a game of poker.

Rubashov loses. His punishment is not to go straight to Hell (Hell is full and has been for years), instead he is condemned to immortality. And so begins a monumental trip through Europe, as Rubashov encounters some of the twentieth century's most notorious characters.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"A gloriously inventive historical adventure" ( The Times)

"Sensational... Vallgren has a superb talent for pastiche, and makes witty and convincing cameos of the infamous and the great" ( Financial Times)

"Hugely entertaining, witty and thoughtful, this is a future cult classic" ( Big Issue)

"Frame[s] the everyday with an almost medieval fascination with the grotesque and the macabre... proof, in this case, that the devil has all the good stories" ( Metro)

"There are some nicely observed episodes here... disturbing metaphors that offer brilliant, brief illuminations of his brutal subject matter" ( New Statesman)

Book Description:

A picaresque adventure in the tradition of The Master and Margarita, in which the gambler Rubashov dices with the devil and travels through European history, meeting some extraordinary characters along the way.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. St Petersburg, 1899. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year s Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush, the biggest gamble ever, to challenge the Devil to a game of poker. Rubashov loses. His punishment is not to go straight to Hell (Hell is full and has been for years), instead he is condemned to immortality. And so begins a monumental trip through Europe, as Rubashov encounters some of the twentieth century s most notorious characters. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099498247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. St Petersburg, 1899. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year s Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush, the biggest gamble ever, to challenge the Devil to a game of poker. Rubashov loses. His punishment is not to go straight to Hell (Hell is full and has been for years), instead he is condemned to immortality. And so begins a monumental trip through Europe, as Rubashov encounters some of the twentieth century s most notorious characters. Bookseller Inventory # AB99780099498247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Vallgren, Carl-Johan
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800994982470000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Carl-johan Vallgren
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 197mm x 19mm. Paperback. St Petersburg, 1899. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year's Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 304 pages. 0.205. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099498247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Carl-Johan Vallgren, Sarah Death
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler, Carl-Johan Vallgren, Sarah Death, St Petersburg, 1899. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year's Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush, the biggest gamble ever, to challenge the Devil to a game of poker. Rubashov loses. His punishment is not to go straight to Hell (Hell is full and has been for years), instead he is condemned to immortality. And so begins a monumental trip through Europe, as Rubashov encounters some of the twentieth century's most notorious characters. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099498247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Vallgren, Carl-Johan
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. 2008. Paperback. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year's Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush, the biggest gamble ever, to challenge the Devil to a game of poker. Rubashov loses. His punishment is not to go straight to Hell, instead he is condemned to immortality. Translator(s): Death, Sarah. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 20. Weight in Grams: 206. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099498247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Vallgren, Carl-Johan
Published by Vintage (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2008. Book Condition: New. 2008. Paperback. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year's Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush, the biggest gamble ever, to challenge the Devil to a game of poker. Rubashov loses. His punishment is not to go straight to Hell, instead he is condemned to immortality. Translator(s): Death, Sarah. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 129 x 20. Weight in Grams: 206. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099498247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Published by Random House (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2008. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780099498247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Vallgren Carl-Johan
Published by Random House
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 3304024

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.52
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Vallgren, Carl-Johan
Published by Vintage Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 0099498243 ISBN 13: 9780099498247
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0099498243

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book