The Age of Gold: The California Gold Rush and the New American Dream

3.96 avg rating
( 772 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099476566: The Age of Gold: The California Gold Rush and the New American Dream

The discovery of gold in California in 1848 sparked a frenzy that shook the world. People swarmed to the gold fields from as far as China and Australia. They came by ship and overland, braving Tierra del Fuego and the pestilence of Panama, lured by the promise of riches. At the heart of "The Age of Gold" is the story of Captain John Fremont, the flamboyant adventurer who "liberated" California from Mexico, only to find himself accused of mutiny. Fremont met his match in young Jessie Benton, a headstrong, fiercely intelligent Senator's daughter. Together, John and Jessie Fremont would play a fateful role in the drama unfolding on the gold fields as they lurched, like so many others, from financial ruin to astonishing riches.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"'The extraordinary story of the California Gold Rush... In John and Jesse Fremont, a glamorous couple, HW Brands has found his...heroes of the tale.... These epic expeditions, in their demonstration of human tenacity and courage, mirror many others cataloged here... A spellbinding tale.'" (Rose Tremain Daily Mail)

"'H.W. Brands interweaves individual lives to create one great adventure story, more action-packed than any Western movie ... he builds a gripping picture of an extraordinary moment in history' " ( The Sunday Telegraph)

"'At once scholarly, witty and accessible, The Age of Gold organises global chaos in to a vivid, comprehensible whole . . . it is hard to imagine a rangier or more entertaining guide to this period of American history'" ( Daily Telegraph)

"A riveting story, told by a born writer" (John Julius Norwich)

"Captivating and vivid... Brands' splendid book captures much of the flavour of this desperate adventure, which featured spectacular winners and losers... Superb" (Frank McLynn Guardian)

From the Publisher:

The spellbinding, adventure-packed story of the Californian Gold Rush. An international bestseller for fans of Devil in the White City and Rose Tremain's The Colour.

'A riveting story, told by a born writer.' John Julius Norwich

'Captivating and vivid... Brands' splendid book captures much of the flavour of this desperate adventure, which featured spectacular winners and losers... Superb.' Frank McLynn, Guardian

The discovery of gold in California in 1848 sparked a frenzy that shook the world. People swarmed to the gold fields from as far as China and Australia. They came by ship and overland, braving Tierra del Fuego and the pestilence of Panama, lured by the promise of riches. In a spellbinding narrative, HW Brands brings the fervour and excitement of the gold rush vividly to life.

At the heart of The Age of Gold is the story of Captain John Fremont, the flamboyant adventurer who "liberated" California from Mexico, only to find himself accused of mutiny. Fremont met his match in young Jessie Benton, a headstrong, fiercely intelligent Senator’s daughter. Together, John and Jessie Fremont would play a fateful role in the drama unfolding on the gold fields as they lurched, like so many others, from financial ruin to astonishing riches. The California gold rush triggered the greatest mass movement of people since the crusades. It accelerated America’s imperial expansion and exacerbated the tensions that would explode a decade later in the Civil War. But perhaps above all, it inspired a new American dream: the dream "of instant wealth, won by audacity and good luck."

'At once scholarly, witty and accessible, The Age of Gold organises global chaos into a vivid, comprehensivbel whole... It is hard to imagine a rangier or more entertaining guide to this period in American history.' Freya Johnson, Telegraph

'The extraordinary story of the California Gold Rush... In John and Jessie Fremont, a glamorous couple, Brands has found... the heroes of his tale.' Rose Tremain, Daily Mail

'Fascinating ... the detonator of the mining revolution which placed gold right at the centre of the world's wealth machine.' Paul Johnson, Literary Review

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

H. W. Brands
Published by Arrow Books Ltd (2006)
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow Books Ltd, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The Age of Gold: The California Gold Rush and the New American Dream This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780099476566

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

H. W. Brands
Published by Arrow Books Ltd (2006)
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow Books Ltd, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The Age of Gold: The California Gold Rush and the New American Dream This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780099476566

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

H. W. Brands
Published by Arrow Books Ltd 02/03/2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow Books Ltd 02/03/2006, 2006. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780099476566

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

H W Brands
Published by ARROW (RAND)
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ARROW (RAND). Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G0099476568I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 4.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brands, H. W.
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001296582

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 1.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Brands, H. W.
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR003081828

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 1.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

H W Brands
Published by ARROW (RAND)
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ARROW (RAND). Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2744908097

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 10.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Brands, H. W.
Published by Arrow Books Ltd (2006)
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Netrep
(Chesterfield, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Arrow Books Ltd, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Some slight wear to the cover. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000005135

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 1.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 14.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

H W Brands
Published by ARROW (RAND) (2006)
ISBN 10: 0099476568 ISBN 13: 9780099476566
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description ARROW (RAND), 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Good condition, some are ex-library and can have markings. Bookseller Inventory # GD-226-86-2930002

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
£ 22.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 7.71
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds