Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-maker and Apprentice to a Butcher in Tuscany

3.88 avg rating
( 19,565 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099464433: Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-maker and Apprentice to a Butcher in Tuscany

Bill Buford, an enthusiastic, if rather chaotic, home cook, was asked by the New Yorker to write a profile of Mario Batali, a Falstaffian figure of voracious appetites who runs one of New York's most successful three-star restaurants. Buford accepted the commission, on the condition Batali allow him to work in his kitchen, as his slave.

He worked his way up to 'line cook' and then left New York to learn from the very teachers who had taught his teacher: preparing game with Marco Pierre White, making pasta in a hillside trattoria, finally becoming apprentice to a Dante-spouting butcher in Chianti.

Heat is a marvellous hybrid: a memoir of Buford's kitchen adventures, the story of Batali's amazing rise to culinary fame, a dazzling behind-the-scenes look at a famous restaurant, and an illuminating exploration of why food matters. It is a book to delight in, and to savour.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"It's a brilliant book, a high-brow kitchen soap opera" ( Daily Telegraph)

"I lingered over every sentence like a heavily truffled risotto" (Anthony Bourdain)

"I have never read a funnier or more authentic account of the making of a serious cook. Give Mr Buford three stars" (Peter Mayle)

"A dazzling and fun account of two magnificently mad years" ( Guardian)

"With an endlessly inquisitive mind writes with great humour ... I suspect it might become a kitchen classic. It deserves to" (Ray Connelly Daily Mail)

From the Publisher:

In the tradition of Orwell's Down and Out in Paris and London and Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential, a brilliant book about working in the kitchen of one of New York's most fashionable restaurants and with one of its most charismatic chefs.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bill Buford
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2007)
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Bill Buford, an enthusiastic, if rather chaotic, home cook, was asked by the New Yorker to write a profile of Mario Batali, a Falstaffian figure of voracious appetites who runs one of New York s most successful three-star restaurants. Buford accepted the commission, on the condition Batali allow him to work in his kitchen, as his slave. He worked his way up to line cook and then left New York to learn from the very teachers who had taught his teacher: preparing game with Marco Pierre White, making pasta in a hillside trattoria, finally becoming apprentice to a Dante-spouting butcher in Chianti. Heat is a marvellous hybrid: a memoir of Buford s kitchen adventures, the story of Batali s amazing rise to culinary fame, a dazzling behind-the-scenes look at a famous restaurant, and an illuminating exploration of why food matters. It is a book to delight in, and to savour. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099464433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bill Buford
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2007)
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Bill Buford, an enthusiastic, if rather chaotic, home cook, was asked by the New Yorker to write a profile of Mario Batali, a Falstaffian figure of voracious appetites who runs one of New York s most successful three-star restaurants. Buford accepted the commission, on the condition Batali allow him to work in his kitchen, as his slave. He worked his way up to line cook and then left New York to learn from the very teachers who had taught his teacher: preparing game with Marco Pierre White, making pasta in a hillside trattoria, finally becoming apprentice to a Dante-spouting butcher in Chianti. Heat is a marvellous hybrid: a memoir of Buford s kitchen adventures, the story of Batali s amazing rise to culinary fame, a dazzling behind-the-scenes look at a famous restaurant, and an illuminating exploration of why food matters. It is a book to delight in, and to savour. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099464433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Buford, Bill
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800994644330000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bill Buford
Published by Vintage 2007-07-05 (2007)
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2007-07-05, 2007. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00407122

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Bill Buford
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 21mm. Paperback. Bill Buford, an enthusiastic, if rather chaotic, home cook, was asked by the New Yorker to write a profile of Mario Batali, a Falstaffian figure of voracious appetites who runs one of New .Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 336 pages. 0.238. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099464433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Bill Buford
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Heat, Bill Buford, Bill Buford, an enthusiastic, if rather chaotic, home cook, was asked by the New Yorker to write a profile of Mario Batali, a Falstaffian figure of voracious appetites who runs one of New York's most successful three-star restaurants. Buford accepted the commission, on the condition Batali allow him to work in his kitchen, as his slave. He worked his way up to 'line cook' and then left New York to learn from the very teachers who had taught his teacher: preparing game with Marco Pierre White, making pasta in a hillside trattoria, finally becoming apprentice to a Dante-spouting butcher in Chianti. Heat is a marvellous hybrid: a memoir of Buford's kitchen adventures, the story of Batali's amazing rise to culinary fame, a dazzling behind-the-scenes look at a famous restaurant, and an illuminating exploration of why food matters. It is a book to delight in, and to savour. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099464433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Buford, Bill
Published by Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage. Book Condition: New. 2007. (7th). Paperback. The author was asked by the New Yorker to write a profile of Mario Batali who runs one of New York's most successful three-star restaurants. Buford accepted the commission, on the condition Batali allow him to work in his kitchen, as his slave. This memoir presents his kitchen adventures, and the story of Batali's rise to culinary fame. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: BGA; WB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 137 x 21. Weight in Grams: 242. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099464433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Buford, Bill
Published by Vintage (2007)
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2007. Book Condition: New. 2007. (7th). Paperback. The author was asked by the New Yorker to write a profile of Mario Batali who runs one of New York's most successful three-star restaurants. Buford accepted the commission, on the condition Batali allow him to work in his kitchen, as his slave. This memoir presents his kitchen adventures, and the story of Batali's rise to culinary fame. Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: BGA; WB. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 137 x 21. Weight in Grams: 242. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099464433

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bill Buford
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Bill Buford, an enthusiastic, if rather chaotic, home cook, was asked by the New Yorker to write a profile of Mario Batali, a Falstaffian figure of voracious appetites who runs one of New York's most successful three-star restaurants. Buford accepted the commission, on the condition Batali allow him. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099464433_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.57
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Buford, Bill
ISBN 10: 0099464438 ISBN 13: 9780099464433
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099464438. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099464438

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book