The Book Against God

3.15 avg rating
( 208 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780099453574: The Book Against God

Thomas Bunting, charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating, and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy PhD, he is secretly writing what he hopes will be his masterwork, a vast atheistic project he has privately entitled 'The Book Against God'. But when his father is suddenly taken ill Thomas returns home, to the tiny village in the north of England where his father still works as a parish priest. Thomas hopes that he may finally be able to communicate honestly with his father, a brilliant and formidable Christian example, and sort out his wayward life. But Thomas is a chronic liar, as well as an atheist, and he finds, instead, that once at home he only falls back into the disastrous and evasive patterns of his childhood years.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

JAMES WOOD is a staff writer at the New Yorker and a visiting lecturer at Harvard. In addition to How Fiction Works, he is the author of two essay collections, The Broken Estate and The Irresponsible Self.

From Publishers Weekly:

Joining the select company of critics who write serious fiction-and do it well-New Republic book critic Wood produces a novel in the tradition of Hazlitt's Liber Amoris and Sainte-Beuve's Volupt‚. Like his predecessors, Wood is interested primarily in portraiture, and the portrait he draws here is of a feckless philosophy student who must come to terms with the shambles of his life. Tom Bunting begins his narrative with a survey of his miserable bed-sit in London. He is in exile from the wonderful flat in Islington he used to share with his wife, Jane Sheridan, who earned the rent from her work as a pianist. Penniless and hopelessly given to lying, Tom has also been neglecting his dissertation to scribble little impious apertus in various notebooks. This he rather grandly calls his "Book against God"-a sort of anti-Pens‚es. The book-and in a sense his whole wretched life-is a muffled rebellion against his father, Peter, a charming, learned, blissfully married vicar in North England. Another source of resentment is Tom's best childhood friend, Max Thurlow, who not only is an important columnist for the Times but has been talking to Jane about Jane's connubial unhappiness. Though on the surface Tom might seem a thoroughly pathetic, despicable character, Wood succeeds against the odds in making him sympathetic and even charming. Muddling through his breakup with Jane, the drift of his ambitions and his father's death, Tom wrestles disarmingly with metaphysical and religious dilemmas that Wood gives fresh urgency and meaning. Like Iris Murdoch, Wood is the rare novelist able to dramatize the life of ideas and give it human dimension.
Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

James Wood
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Thomas Bunting, charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating, and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy PhD, he is secretly writing what he hopes will be his masterwork, a vast atheistic project he has privately entitled The Book Against God . But when his father is suddenly taken ill Thomas returns home, to the tiny village in the north of England where his father still works as a parish priest. Thomas hopes that he may finally be able to communicate honestly with his father, a brilliant and formidable Christian example, and sort out his wayward life. But Thomas is a chronic liar, as well as an atheist, and he finds, instead, that once at home he only falls back into the disastrous and evasive patterns of his childhood years. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099453574

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

James Wood
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Thomas Bunting, charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating, and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy PhD, he is secretly writing what he hopes will be his masterwork, a vast atheistic project he has privately entitled The Book Against God . But when his father is suddenly taken ill Thomas returns home, to the tiny village in the north of England where his father still works as a parish priest. Thomas hopes that he may finally be able to communicate honestly with his father, a brilliant and formidable Christian example, and sort out his wayward life. But Thomas is a chronic liar, as well as an atheist, and he finds, instead, that once at home he only falls back into the disastrous and evasive patterns of his childhood years. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099453574

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

James R. Wood
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800994535740000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Wood, James R.
Published by Vintage Books USA
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books USA. Book Condition: New. When his father is taken ill, Thomas hopes that he may be able to communicate honestly with him, as his father sets a formidable Christian example, and sort out his wayward life. But Thomas is a chronic liar, and athiest as well, and instead finds that once at home, he falls back into the disastrous and evasive patterns of his childhood years. Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 195 x 132 x 17. Weight in Grams: 190. . 2004. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780099453574

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Wood, James R.
Published by Vintage Books USA (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books USA, 2004. Book Condition: New. When his father is taken ill, Thomas hopes that he may be able to communicate honestly with him, as his father sets a formidable Christian example, and sort out his wayward life. But Thomas is a chronic liar, and athiest as well, and instead finds that once at home, he falls back into the disastrous and evasive patterns of his childhood years. Num Pages: 256 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 195 x 132 x 17. Weight in Grams: 190. . 2004. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099453574

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

James R. Wood
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Book Against God, James R. Wood, Thomas Bunting, charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating, and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy PhD, he is secretly writing what he hopes will be his masterwork, a vast atheistic project he has privately entitled 'The Book Against God'. But when his father is suddenly taken ill Thomas returns home, to the tiny village in the north of England where his father still works as a parish priest. Thomas hopes that he may finally be able to communicate honestly with his father, a brilliant and formidable Christian example, and sort out his wayward life. But Thomas is a chronic liar, as well as an atheist, and he finds, instead, that once at home he only falls back into the disastrous and evasive patterns of his childhood years. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099453574

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

James R. Wood
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099453576. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099453576

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

James Wood
Published by Vintage (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2004. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780099453574

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.57
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

James Wood
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Thomas Bunting, charming, chaotic, and deeply untruthful, is in despair. His marriage is disintegrating, and his academic career is in ruins: instead of completing his philosophy PhD, he is secretly writing what he hopes will be his masterwork, a vast atheistic project he has privately entitled 'The. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780099453574_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

James R. Wood
Published by Vintage Books USA (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099453576 ISBN 13: 9780099453574
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Books USA, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0099453576

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book