The Journals, Volume 1: v. 1

4.01 avg rating
( 67 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780099443421: The Journals, Volume 1: v. 1

In 1963 John Fowles won international recognition with his first published novel The Collector. But his roots as a serious writer can be traced back long before to the journal he began as a student at Oxford in the late 1940s and continued to keep faithfully over the next half century. Written with an unsparing honesty and forthrightness, it reveals the inner thoughts and creative development of one of the twentieth century's most innovative and important novelists.

This first-hand account of the road to fame and fortune holds the reader's attention with all the narrative power of the novels, but also offers an invaluable insight into the intimate relationship between Fowles's own life and his fiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"His intellectual perseverance and artistic integrity... remain impressive to the end" ( Observer)

"He is sharp when speaking about his own fiction, and the section dealing with The Collector will no doubt be required reading for all students of Fowles" ( Scotland on Sunday)

"This journal is fascinating, full of stimulating thoughts about aesthetics, national identity and the changing function of literature in post-war Europe" ( Daily Telegraph)

"Fans of The Magus and The French Lieutenant's Woman are in for a treat" ( Time Out)

"Fowles is an artist of great imaginative power" ( Sunday Times)

Book Description:

'The book is gripping, and one can't help feeling that Fowles was writing what may come to be seen as one of the very best of his works' - Literary Review

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fowles, John
Published by Vintage Classics (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Paperback Quantity Available: 19
Seller
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Classics, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in Brand New condition. Bookseller Inventory # CHL1713182

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Fowles, John
Published by Random House (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House, 2004. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # F4-9780099443421

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Fowles, John
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800994434210000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Fowles, John
Published by Vintage Classics (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Classics, 2004. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099443422. Bookseller Inventory # ST0099443422

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Fowles, John
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In 1963 John Fowles won international recognition with his first published novel The Collector. But his roots as a serious writer can be traced back long before to the journal he began as a student at Oxford in the late 1940s and continued to keep faithfully over the next half century. Written with an unsparing honesty and forthrightness, it reveals the inner thoughts and creative development of one of the twentieth century s most innovative and important novelists. This first-hand account of the road to fame and fortune holds the reader s attention with all the narrative power of the novels, but also offers an invaluable insight into the intimate relationship between Fowles s own life and his fiction. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099443421

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Fowles, John
Published by Vintage Publishing
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Journals: v. 1, John Fowles, In 1963 John Fowles won international recognition with his first published novel The Collector. But his roots as a serious writer can be traced back long before to the journal he began as a student at Oxford in the late 1940s and continued to keep faithfully over the next half century. Written with an unsparing honesty and forthrightness, it reveals the inner thoughts and creative development of one of the twentieth century's most innovative and important novelists. This first-hand account of the road to fame and fortune holds the reader's attention with all the narrative power of the novels, but also offers an invaluable insight into the intimate relationship between Fowles's own life and his fiction. Bookseller Inventory # B9780099443421

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Fowles, John
Published by Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In 1963 John Fowles won international recognition with his first published novel The Collector. But his roots as a serious writer can be traced back long before to the journal he began as a student at Oxford in the late 1940s and continued to keep faithfully over the next half century. Written with an unsparing honesty and forthrightness, it reveals the inner thoughts and creative development of one of the twentieth century s most innovative and important novelists. This first-hand account of the road to fame and fortune holds the reader s attention with all the narrative power of the novels, but also offers an invaluable insight into the intimate relationship between Fowles s own life and his fiction. Bookseller Inventory # AAZ9780099443421

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Fowles, John
Published by Vintage Publishing 2004-11-04, London (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Publishing 2004-11-04, London, 2004. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780099443421

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Fowles, John
Published by Vintage Classics 2004-11-04 (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage Classics 2004-11-04, 2004. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00407182

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Fowles, John
Published by Vintage (2004)
ISBN 10: 0099443422 ISBN 13: 9780099443421
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2004. Book Condition: New. 2004. Paperback. In 1963 John Fowles won international recognition with his first published novel The Collector. But his roots as a serious writer can be traced back long before to the journal he began as a student at Oxford in the late 1940s and continued to keep faithfully over the next half century. Num Pages: 704 pages, 32. BIC Classification: BJ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 199 x 133 x 46. Weight in Grams: 476. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780099443421

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book